Core Databases
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowCreated by the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, the index offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation.
- Art and Architecture Archive: Architecture & Design This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of journals, magazines and trade publications comprising key research material in the fields of architecture and design, dating from the late-19th to 21st century.
- Geobase This link opens in a new windowResearch literature with abstracts on human and physical geography, ecology, geology, oceanography, geomechanics and development studies.
- Global Plants This link opens in a new windowGlobal Plants is the world's largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
Secondary Databases
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes Art, Architecture, Landscape Architecture, and Urban Planning journals. Reproductions of works of art appearing in periodicals are also indexed.
- Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 This link opens in a new windowProvides high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications - many of which are peer-reviewed - and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. Coverage includes fine, decorative and commercial arts.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowABI/INFORM Collection is a comprehensive business database, which contains journals, business periodicals, dissertations, and country-and industry-focused reports.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (AESD) This link opens in a new windowThe Agricultural & Environmental Science database (AESD) facilitates in-depth research and comprehensive literature reviews across the earth, atmospheric & aquatic sciences. Includes Agricola.
- CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new windowArticles, ebooks, and data sheets on agriculture, animal health, crop protection, forestry, global health, human nutrition, horticulture, and natural resources management. Includes Cab Abstracts & Global Health databases.
- Compendex Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Premier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies.
pinecone - DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowArticles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. Information on designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc.
- Detail Inspiration This link opens in a new windowOver 3,000 architecture and building projects from the last 50 years of Detail available for pdf download.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of international research literature on geology and the geosciences.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowApproximately 300,000 articles on green issues, including green building, global warming, etc.
- North American City Reports This link opens in a new windowOver five million pages of in-depth surveys, reports, and research from more than six hundred North American cities and urban agencies.
Access is provided through Policy Commons. - PubAg This link opens in a new windowPubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. It delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and citations to an additional 340,000 articles. Updated daily.
- Treesearch (US Forest Service)an online system for sharing free, full text publications by Research and Development scientists in the US Forest Service. Included in Treesearch are scholarly works published by the agency as well as those published by others, including papers appearing in journals, conference proceedings, or books. All publications appearing in Treesearch are based on peer reviewed research to make sure they provide the best scientific information possible.
- ULI Case Studies This link opens in a new windowShowcases innovative approaches and best practices in real estate and urban development. Includes photos, site plans, floor plans, project data, a report on the development process and more.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new windowIn addition to fully-searchable journal backfiles, also includes current issues for some titles as well as collections of primary-source documents such as their '19th century British pamphlets'.
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowA web-based research methods tool created to support researchers and students as they explore relevant content across the social and behavioral sciences, covering quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowSearch citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
Canadian Databases
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals, magazines, and newspapers published in Canada in the fields of business, current events, education and general reference.
- Canada Commons This link opens in a new windowSearchable access to current public documents issued by Canadian public policy and health research agencies and think tanks, as well as books from over 70 Canadian publishers.
- Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new windowCanadian Newsstream offers the full text of almost 400 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including The Globe and Mail, National Post and the Vancouver Sun.
- Canadian Research IndexCanadian federal, provincial, territorial, regional, and local government publications; all titles are filmed and available in the Microlog microfiche collection, Koerner Library Microforms (floor 2).
- British Columbia Newspaper Index This link opens in a new windowSelective index of The Province, Vancouver Sun and Times-Colonist; 1991-2007. From the BC Legislative Library.
- British Columbia Periodical Index This link opens in a new windowArticles selectively indexed from major British Columbia magazines.
- Open Information CanadaThe goal of Open Information is to provide easy access to all of the Government of Canada’s information.
Need Help?
For help finding articles, see the UBC Library's Finding Journal Articles guide.