Tools for Quick Facts
- Japanese dates convertor (National Institute of Informatics)Converts Japanese era dates to Western calendar dates.
- DDBC Time Authority Database 時間規範檢索Provide tools to convert Chinese, Japanese, and Korean calendars into Western equivalents and vice versa.
- 中国学用単位系の換算Provides tools to convert Chinese historical measurements into metric units and vice versa. 伝統中国学用の度量衡換算ツール
Research Help
Encyclopedias
- Nihon daihyakka zensho (Encyclopedia Nipponica) 日本大百科全書 (ニッポニカ)In JapanKnowledge Lib. Remember to log out.
- Encylopedia of Japan (in English)The digital version of Japan: An illustrated encyclopedia in JapanKnowledge Lib. Remember to log out.
Dictionaries
- JapanKnowledge Lib (in Japanese) ジャパンナレッジA Japanese multi-purpose database including many reference resources and electronic books.
Remember to log out.
List of select dictionaries in JapanKnowledge:
- Digital Daijisen デジタル大辞泉
- Nihon kokugo daijiten 日本国語大辞典
- Shinsen Kan-Wa jiten 新選漢和辞典
- Jitsū 字通
- Kadokawa kogo daijiten 角川古語大辞典
- Kokushi daijiten 国史大辞典
- Bukkyōgo daijiten 仏教語大辞典
- Kadokawa Nihon chimei daijiten 角川日本地名大辞典
- Shōgakkan Random House Ei-Wa daijiten 小学館ランダムハウス英和大辞典
- Progressive Wa-Ei chūjiten プログレッシブ和英中辞典
- Gendai yōgo no kiso chishiki 現代用語の基礎知識
Check with the Japanese Studies Librarian about additional titles.
- Digital Dictionary of Buddhism This link opens in a new windowContains terms from Chinese, Japanese and Korean Buddhism. The dictionary is fully searchable, and the site also includes browsable indices, presentations about the dictionary, and details of contributors.
- JAANUS: Japanese architecture and art net users systemAn online dictionary of Japanese architectural and art historical terminology compiled by Dr. Mary Neighbour Parent.
A Dictionary of Basic Japanese Grammar 日本語基本文法辞典 (Electronic version) by ISBN: 9784789004541Publication Date: 1989-01-01
A Dictionary of Intermediate Japanese Grammar 日本語文法辞典 中級編 (Electronic version) by ISBN: 9784789007757Publication Date: 1995-01-01
A Dictionary of Advanced Japanese Grammar 日本語文法辞典 上級編 (Electronic version) by ISBN: 9784789012959Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Biographical Information
- JapanKnowledge Lib (in Japanese) ジャパンナレッジA Japanese multi-purpose database including many reference resources and electronic books.
Remember to log out.
JapanKnowledge Lib. contains the following biographical dictionaries:
- Biographical dictionary of Japan 日本人名大辞典
- Iwanami great world biographical dictionary 世界人名大辞典
- Dictionary of fictional and legendary characters 日本架空伝承人名事典
- Bibliography of Japanese biographies 日本人物文献目録
- Asahi Shinbun Cross-Search 朝日新聞クロスサーチAsahi Newspaper's database includes Who's who database 人物データベース containing over 35,000 entries. Remember to log out.
- Yomidas (Yomiuri Database Service) ヨミダスYomiuri Newspaper's Yomidas database includes Contemporary who's who database 現代人名録, containing 26,000 entries. Remember to log out.
Geographical & Historical Information
- Kadokawa Nihon chimei daijiten 角川日本地名大辞典In JapanKnowledge Lib. Remember to log out.
- Kokushi daijiten 国史大辞典In JapanKnowledge Lib. Remember to log out.
- Cambridge history of JapanOnline access to the standard English language series.