It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Japanese Studies Resources
A general research guide for Japanese Studies at the UBC Asian Library. Access to some resources may be restricted to the UBC faculty, staff, and students.
Material Pick-up (an on-campus pick-up service) is available for circulating print resources in our collection. Print InterLibrary Loans service at UBC has resumed though not all participating libraries are providing loans. Copy requests (for journal articles and book chapters) may have the better chance of success.
"The Complete Database for Japanese Magazines and Periodicals from the Meiji Era to the Present." This article index provides citation information for articles published from the Meiji period on. The database includes the full National Diet Library periodicals index (Zasshi kiji sakuin), but is especially useful for those looking for resources published before 1948.
LIMITED TIME ONLY
Web OYA-bunko indexes serial publications held by Ōya Sōichi Bunko, a periodical library in Tokyo with a comprehensive collection of approximately 12,000 popular journals. Coverage: 1988-present. Some coverage of pre-1988 articles available. Not full-text.
Subscription ends: March 31, 2022.
LIMITED TIME ONLY
The database covers newspaper and periodical titles published in Japan during the Occupation period (1945-1949). Those publications are in the Prange Collection, originally belonged to the Civil Censorship Detachment, a unit within GHQ, which covers a wide range of subjects: politics, economics, sociology, education, history, philosophy, religion, art, language, literature, etc.
Subscription ends: April 30, 2021
A database of material related to Japanese language and Japanese language education. The catalogue reflects the data in the Japanese Language Studies Annual Survey and Bibliography 『国語年鑑』and the Japanese Language Education Annual Survey『日本語教育年鑑』which were published by NINJAL, and contains searchable articles and books on these topics published in 1950 onwards. New data is being added subsequently.
J-STAGE is an electronic journal platform developed and managed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST). J-Stage promotes open access and 90+% of articles from journals, conference proceedings, research reports, and others, are free to read.