Japanese Studies Resources

Full-text access to Asahi shinbun 朝日新聞 (1879-present), Shūkan Asahi 週刊朝日 (1985-present), and AERA (1985-present). Also includes the Historical Photo Archive (coverage 1930s-1945) and Asahi gurafu アサヒ・グラフ (1923-1945), a pictorial magazine.

Offers full-text access to 35,000+ global news and information sources from 200 countries in 26 languages.Includes recent issues of Mainichi shinbun 毎日新聞, Sankei shinbun 産経新聞, Yomiuri shinbun 読売新聞, and other Japanese language news sources.

Provides access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. Includes Japanese web news coverage for the last 90 days.

Full-text access to Yomiuri Shinbun 読売新聞 (1874-present). Also includes Daily Yomiuri / The Japan News, an English language daily published by Yomiuri (1989-present).

The Japanese-Canadian newspaper Tairiku Nippō (Continental Daily News) was published in Vancouver between 1907 and 1941.

The world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America. Image content in this collection is accompanied by OCR-generated text where possible, thus rendering the text searchable.

The English-language Japan Chronicle Weekly (1900–1940) is the newspaper of record for Japan’s engagement with modernity and its emergence, through war, political and social upheaval and seismic social change in East Asia, onto the world stage in the first half of the twentieth century.

Collects newspaper clippings data from the end of the Meiji era to 1970, maintained by the Research Institute for Economics and Business Administration Library at Kobe University.

DS881.2 .N54 1986 ASIAN LIBRARY oversize

DS886 .S47 ASRS Storage (IKB)

DS888.2 .S43 ASRS Storage (IKB)

Provides guidance on how to find newspaper holdings in different institutions across Japan.