Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japanese Studies Resources

A general research guide for Japanese Studies at the UBC Asian Library. Access to some resources may be restricted to the UBC faculty, staff, and students.

UBC Collections

Japanese Rare Book Collection

We have about 180 Japanese rare items housed in the Rare Books and Special Collections. All the items have "Asian Rare-6" as part of the call number. Browse the collection by searching "Asian Rare-6" as "Other shelf number" on the Library Catalogue as you see below.

UBC Archival Collections

►Watch a 7-minute video on finding and using Japanese Canadian Resources.

To see the UBC Library's Japanese Canadian Research Collection in the library catalogue:

Collections in Japan

InterLibrary Loans (ILL) from Japan

While Material Pick-up (an on-campus pick-up service) is available for circulating print resources in our collection, access to print InterLibrary Loans, including copying and scanning from print collections, is unavailable while the library is closed. 

Please check the Library service updates for up-to-date information or ask the Japanese Studies Librarian for more information.

Under the regular circumstances, please go through the regular InterLibrary Loan (ILL) process for Japanese-language titles. First check Worldcat to see if the work is held by a North American institution or NDL. If it is held by NDL, then fill out the ILL form and in the "comments" box mark down the ISSN and NDL article record ID if it's a journal article, listed on the right hand column if it's through CiNii. If you are requesting a book, please include the ISBN, and record ID.