Types of Reference Sources
-
Oxford Research EncyclopediasOxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offers peer-reviewed, article-style writings that are authored and edited by leading scholars in a variety of subject areas.
-
Dictionary of Canadian biographyIncludes entries for non-Canadians who played a significant role in the history of the country.
-
Biographical dictionary of Chinese women, Antiquity Through Sui1600 B. C. E. - 618 C. E.
-
Mountain of Fame: Portraits in Chinese HistoryUBC Library has both print and online versions.
-
Oxford dictionary of national biographyThe national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century
-
Deutsche BiographieIncludes entries from both the Allgemeine deutsche Biographie (1875-1912) and the Neue deutsche Biographie (1953-).
-
Biographie nationaleNational biographical source for Belgium. Access does not include most recent print volumes which are in Koerner reference at CT 1163.A2
-
Oxford Handbooks OnlineThe Oxford Handbooks series covers 17 subject areas. The Handbooks contain specially-commissioned essays with referencing to further reading, and provide relevant information for scholars, advanced students, and practitioners.
-
Oxford Reference OnlineOver 300 key Oxford University Press dictionaries and other reference works. Multidisciplinary.
-
Cambridge Histories OnlineProvides access to many of the texts of the Cambridge Histories series. UBC Library has titles published up to 2012.
