Research Guides: French Language and Literature: Pour débuter

Dictionnaires

Grand Robert This link opens in a new window
A premier French online dictionary that provides all 6 volumes of the latest edition of this prestigious work. Includes numerous editorial supplements and unpublished extras.
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new window
Main database of almost 115 million words, constituting 1880 French texts from the 12th to the 20th centuries, and other files

Dictionaire Vivant de la Langue Française
Experimental dictionary from the ARTFL project. Includes results from a number of traditional dictionary resources but also allows user definitions and feedback.

Trouver des articles:

Klapp Online This link opens in a new window
Online edition of Klapp, the most comprehensive bibliography of French literature. Annual update of the database with approx. 16,000 titles
Bibliographie de la littérature française - Rancoeur This link opens in a new window
BLF en ligne est co-produite par la Bibliothèque nationale de France, la Société d’histoire littéraire de la France et Classiques Garnier numérique. UNE MISE À JOUR QUOTIDIENNE
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography is the core database for English language and literature.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Iter resources include the Iter bibliography (with more than 1,070,000 records), the Iter italicum online, the Medici archive project and other databases.
International Medieval Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in journals and miscellanies (collected essays, conference proceedings and Festschriften) covering all aspects of the European Middle Ages (c450-1500).

CAIRN This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of 230 French language periodicals covering areas such as history, psychology, economics, political science and sociology.
Erudit scholarly journals collection This link opens in a new window
Currently composed of 59 journals, published mainly in French, but also including a few bilingual and English titles
Repère This link opens in a new window
Repère provides the most comprehensive source for journal articles in French.
Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Canada Commons is an unmatched resource for Canadian content. It offers a bilingual (English-French) interface that gives Canadian readers access to all content in their language of choice. Originally named the Canadian Electronic Library, it is boasts a collection of ebooks which has been available to libraries since 2005.

The Canadian Documents Collection includes research papers, reports, studies, policy papers & briefs, discussion papers, numbered series, working papers, political party platforms, evidence reviews, systematic reviews, economic evaluations and environmental scans.
JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new window
In addition to fully-searchable journal backfiles, also includes current issues for some titles as well as collections of primary-source documents such as their '19th century British pamphlets'.

Gallica
Gallica is the digital collection of the National French Library (Bibliotheque Nationale de France). Resources include digitized books, manuscripts, maps, music scores, images and periodicals.
Bibliothèque nationale de France
The Bibliothèque nationale de France collects, preserves and makes known the national documentary heritage.
The BnF’s collections are unique in the world: 15 million books and printed documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, maps and plans, scores, coins, medals, sound documents, video and multimedia documents, scenery elements... All disciplines, whether intellectual, artistic or scientific, are represented in a comprehensive way. About 150 000 documents are added to the collections each year thanks to legal deposit, acquisitions and donations.
H-France Digital Humanities Database
The H-France DH Database will serve as a resource to find digital humanities projects and collections of online sources related to France and Francophone history and culture. It is edited so that only projects that meet certainly scholarly criteria will be included. It is a work in progress and materials are continually being added.