French literature and language call numbers
How to find books in the Koerner Library:
The main French Language and Literature collections are found at Koerner Library on the first floor under the following call numbers:
- PC 2001-3761 Books on French language
- PQ 1-3999 French literature and books on French literature
- PR8309-9680/PS8001-8599 French-Canadian literature
When you find a book in the Catalogue, you need to take note of the call number in order to be able to locate the book on the shelf.
How to read an "LC" call number (Library of Congress classification system), courtesy of l'Université du Québec à Rimouski. : Lire la cote
French Catalogues:
Finding Historical Books
You can search UBC's collection of rare books here or access some of the greatest collections from Europe in the following digital libraries:
- GallicaGallica is the digital collection of the National French Library (Bibliotheque Nationale de France). Resources include digitized books, manuscripts, maps, music scores, images and periodicals.
- EuropeanaEuropeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. resources include: Images (paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects); Texts (books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers); Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts); and Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts
- French Revolutionary PamphletsDigitized by the University of Alabama, these are pdfs dating from 1789-1799.
- Periodicals and Pamphlets of the French Revolution of 1848The Center for Research Libraries, the University of Chicago Library, and the ARTFL Project have collaborated on this project to digitize pamphlets and periodicals from the French Revolution 0f 1848 held by CRL.
Cambridge Companions
Cambridge Companions offer many titles of relevance to French literary studies (and only a selection is offered here). Not only are there companions to particular authors such as Baudelaire, Flaubert, Zola but also on more general topics such as the French novel, French culture or medieval French literature.
The Cambridge Companion to French Literature by Call Number: PQ103 .L95 2016ISBN: 9781107036048Publication Date: 2015
The Cambridge Companion to Camus by Call Number: PQ2605.A3734 Z6262 2007 OkanaganISBN: 9780521840484Publication Date: 2007
The Cambridge Companion to Modern French Culture by Call Number: DC33.7 .C27 2003ISBN: 0521791235Publication Date: 2003
The Cambridge Companion to the Literature of Paris by Call Number: PQ3805 .C36 2013ISBN: 9780521182133Publication Date: 2013
The Cambridge Companion to Rabelais by Call Number: PQ1694 .C36 2011ISBN: 9780521867863Publication Date: 2010
The Cambridge Companion to Voltaire by Call Number: PQ2122 .C365 2009ISBN: 9780521849739Publication Date: 2009
The Cambridge Companion to Molière by Call Number: PQ1860 .C36 2006 OkanaganISBN: 9780521837590Publication Date: 2006
Search Google Books
Find books at other libraries
General Bibliographies
- Bibliographie d'histoire littéraire françaiseCall Number: ZPQ99. B4 Koerner Ref
- Bibliographie de la littérature francaise (XVIe - XXe siècles)Call Number: ZPQ99. B5 Koerner Ref
- Bibliographie de la littérature française de 1800 à 1930Call Number: PR9011.Q4.D677 Koerner Ref
Specific bibliographies
Bibliography of African Literatures by Call Number: PN849.A35 L55 1996 ReferenceISBN: 0810831449Publication Date: 1996
Women Writers in Francophone Africa by Call Number: PQ3980 .H58 2000 Koerner ReferenceISBN: 1859733468Publication Date: 2000- Bibliographie critique de la littérature judéo-maghrébine d'expression française : 1896-1990 / Guy Dugas.Call Number: ZPQ3988.5.N6 D83 1992 ReferencePart of the Etudes littéraires maghrébines series.
- Bibliographie méthodique de la poésie maghrébine de langue française : 1945-1989 / Nicola D'Ambrosio.Call Number: PQ3988.5.N5 D35 1991 Okanagan CampusPublication Date: 1991
- Bibliographie de la critique sur les littératures maghrébines / Charles Bonn et la Coordination internationale des chercheurs sur les littératures maghrébines. byCall Number: PQ3988.5.N6 B65 1996 ReferencePublication Date: 1996
- Bibliographie de la critique de la littérature québécoise et canadienne-française dans les revues canadiennes / René Dionne et Pierre Cantin.Call Number: ZPR8911 .D55 ReferencePublication Date: 1760/1899,1974/78-1983/84
Dictionnaire des Auteurs de Langue FrançAise en AméRique du Nord by Call Number: PR8927 .H344 1989ISBN: 2762114756Publication Date: 1989-01-01
Caribbean Writers by Call Number: PN849.C3 C3 1979 ReferenceISBN: 0914478745Publication Date: 1979-06-01
The Complete Caribbeana, 1900-1975 by Call Number: ZF2161 .C645 1977 ASRS(Storage)ISBN: 9780527188207Publication Date: 1977-12-01
