Need help finding articles?
See the UBC Library Guide to Finding Articles. The guide shows you how to search for a known article from a list or in course reserve, find articles on a topic, and what to do when UBC Library doesn't have the article you're looking for.
Databases/Bases de données
- Klapp Online This link opens in a new windowOnline edition of Klapp, the most comprehensive bibliography of French literature. Annual update of the database with approx. 16,000 titles
- Bibliographie de la littérature française - Rancoeur This link opens in a new windowDatabase of the Bibliography of French Literature. Produced by the Bibliothèque nationale de France (National Library of France), the Société d'histoire littéraire de la France (Society of Literary History of France) and published by Classiques Garnier digital. It lists studies published since 1998 on French and Francophone literature, from the sixteenth century to today.
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography is the core databases for English language and literature but also covers French language literature..
- JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new windowIn addition to fully-searchable journal backfiles, also includes current issues for some titles as well as collections of primary-source documents such as their '19th century British pamphlets'.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index. Can be used to determine where and how many times an article has been cited.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 This link opens in a new windowHumanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers the ability to search a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907.
- ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new windowMain database of almost 115 million words, constituting 1880 French texts from the 12th to the 20th centuries, and other files
- Oxford Journals Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Journals is a division of Oxford University Press, which is a department of Oxford University. Contains academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas,
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline access to a comprehensive selection of important journals and ebooks in the humanities and social sciences.
- FRANCIS (Humanities and Social Sciences)FRANCIS propose une indexation bibliographique de plus de 2,5 millions d'entrées remontant à 1972. Produite par l'Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), cette base de données multilingue couvre plusieurs disciplines liées aux sciences humaines et sociales. Les documents sources comprennent des articles de revues, des ouvrages, des analyses de conférence, des thèses et des rapports.
Cross-disciplinary Databases
The following databases are not specifically for French literature courses. They provide access to articles written in French that apply to ALL subjects in the Humanities and Social Sciences (i.e. Political Science, Education, History etc.)
- CairnOffers access to the most comprehensive collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines. The collection is currently comprised of over 150 titles from more than 40 publishers, teaching institutions and learned societies and is growing rapidly. Journals range in date from 2001 to the present, gathering more than 40,000 articles
- EruditA multi-institutional publishing consortium comprising the Université de Montréal, the Université Laval and the Université du Québec à Montréal. Érudit is a non-profit society that offers an innovative model for the promotion and dissemination of research outputs. It's currently composed of 59 journals covering various disciplines - law, anthropology, biology, education, history arts etc. They're published mainly in French, but also including a few bilingual and English titles.
- Perséeis a program which was created for the digital publication of scientific journals in the field of the humanities. The entire printed collection of journals is digitized and published online through a portal which offers access to the collections as well as advanced functionalities which facilitate and enhance use of the portal’s resources. The journals are selected by an editorial board, thereby guaranteeing the collection’s scientific coherence.
- Canada Commons This link opens in a new windowCanada Commons is an unmatched resource for Canadian content. It offers a bilingual (English-French) interface that gives Canadian readers access to all content in their language of choice. Originally named the Canadian Electronic Library, it is boasts a collection of ebooks which has been available to libraries since 2005.
The Canadian Documents Collection includes research papers, reports, studies, policy papers & briefs, discussion papers, numbered series, working papers, political party platforms, evidence reviews, systematic reviews, economic evaluations and environmental scans. - Repère This link opens in a new windowProvides the most comprehensive source for journal articles in French: more than 255,000 references to articles from 500 French-language periodicals, including all of the major Canadian French language titles in addition to articles published in France, Belgium and Switzerland. It offers full-text for 8,600 articles appearing in approximately 41 Quebec periodicals
Databases specific to Middle Ages-Renaissance resources
- International Medieval Bibliography Online This link opens in a new windowCitations to articles in journals and miscellanies (collected essays, conference proceedings and Festschriften) covering all aspects of the European Middle Ages (c450-1500).
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIter resources include the Iter bibliography (with more than 1,070,000 records), the Iter italicum online, the Medici archive project and other databases.
Linguistics Databases
- ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new windowMain database of almost 115 million words, constituting 1880 French texts from the 12th to the 20th centuries, and other files