Canadian Art Exhibition Catalogues
The Canadian Art Exhibition Catalogues Collection is housed in display cabinets on Level 3 and Level 4 of the Ridington Room. This reading room is located inside the Music, Art & Architecture Library, in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre.
The collection brings together catalogues produced for solo and group exhibitions by Canadian artists (exhibiting work within Canada or internationally) as well as exhibitions mounted at Canadian art institutions. There is strong representation of Vancouver and BC-based artists, and of exhibitions held in Western Canada. It preserves historically important Canadian art materials, serves as a record of art practice in Canada, and is the most in-depth collection of its kind on the West Coast.
For information about this collection and how to search for materials, see the Exhibition Catalogues section of the Canadian Art research guide.
Artist Files at MAA Library
The artist files are housed in the Vertical Files Collection, located on Level 3 of the Music, Art & Architecture Library, in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre.
The vertical files make up an extensive filing system that provides a wealth of information in the areas of art, architecture, and community and regional planning, dating back to the 1950s. The paper-based files can include pamphlets, exhibition announcements and reviews, newspaper clippings, planning reports, unpublished manuscripts, biographical information, correspondence, and other ephemeral material.
For information about this collection and how to search for materials, see the Artist Files section of the Canadian Art research guide.
Vertical Files at X̱wi7x̱wa Library
The majority of X̱wi7x̱wa Library's vertical files are catalogued and organized according to the X̱wi7x̱wa Classification System.
Some of the vertical files are organized alphabetically by subject.
This collection includes files on: Archives (Vancouver), Art (Exhibitions, Inuit, Totem Poles), Artists (Jim Hart, Robert Davidson, Susan Point, Bill Reid), among other topics.
Indigenous Digital Collections
For a detailed outline of Indigenous born-digital content and digital collections at UBC, and beyond, see the:
- X̱wi7x̱wa Library Distance Research guide.
- Indigenous Digital Collections section of the Indigenous Librarianship guide.
Archival Collections at UBC
- UBC Rare Books & Special Collections (RBSC)RBSC houses significant collections of rare books, archival materials, historic maps, photographs, broadsides, and pamphlets. The principal focus of the collections is British Columbia: history, exploration, settlement, business, politics, ethnicity, and labour.
- UBC RBSC: Indigenous Peoples Histories and ArchivesThis research guide aims to assist researchers looking for materials in RBSC that are relevant to Indigenous peoples in Canada. These materials include textual records, photographs, and multimedia materials from a wide range of topics, including land rights, fishing rights, women's rights, and legal matters.
- UBC Archives: First Nations Historical ResourcesThese resources document First Nations history and culture in general, and the evolution of UBC’s relationships with First Nations in particular. They include archival materials in all media (textual, photographic, audiovisual, and digital), websites, and Internet-based collections and related resources.
- Vancouver Bibliography This link opens in a new windowSearch a comprehensive listing of all materials on the subject of Vancouver, via the UBC Archives, Bibliographies and Reading Rooms. Lists over 20,000 items in many formats including books, manuscripts, maps, films, articles, microforms, and others.
- Morris and Helen Belkin Art GalleryThe Belkin holds one of the largest public collections of art in the province. For more information on the Belkin's archival holdings, see the British Columbian Art & Artists section in the Canadian Art guide.
- UBC Museum of Anthropology ArchivesOnline catalogue for the Archives of MOA's Audrey & Harry Hawthorn Library & Archives. The archives is the repository for records of the museum, as well as records from private individuals that are of direct contextual relevance to the museum’s object collections.
Archival Collections Beyond UBC
- Royal BC Museum: BC ArchivesThis database provides descriptions and select digitized versions of archival records held at the BC Archives.
- BC Archives: First Nations Research GuideThis guide is intended to help researchers locate material on British Columbia First Nations at the BC Archives, and related resources available elsewhere.
- City of Vancouver ArchivesThe City of Vancouver Archives acquires a variety of records that document the city's history. Search the Archives' holdings for digital objects such as photographs, audio, movies or text.
- Archives Assocation of British Columbia: BC Historical Photographs OnlineBC Historical Photographs Online contains annotated links to photograph databases and virtual galleries developed by member institutions and hosted on various archival web sites throughout the province.
- Library and Archives Canada: Indigenous HeritageLibrary and Archives Canada (LAC) acquires, preserves, and provides access to published and archival heritage material that represents First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation experiences and contributions to Canada. This includes text, photographs, maps, and audio-visual material. Explore the collection online.