About the Collection
The Canadian Art Exhibition Catalogues Collection is housed in display cabinets on Level 3 and Level 4 of the Ridington Room. This reading room is located inside the Music, Art & Architecture Library, in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre.
The collection brings together catalogues produced for solo and group exhibitions by Canadian artists (exhibiting work within Canada or internationally) as well as exhibitions mounted at Canadian art institutions. There is strong representation of Vancouver and BC-based artists, and of exhibitions held in Western Canada. It preserves historically important Canadian art materials, serves as a record of art practice in Canada, and is the most in-depth collection of its kind on the West Coast.
Several of the display cabinets on Level 3 are visually enriched with high-resolution reproductions of paintings by iconic Canadian artist Emily Carr. These images have been generously provided through a collaboration with the Vancouver Art Gallery.
Searching the Collection
Search Summon and the Library Catalogue to find online records for items in the Canadian Art Exhibition Catalogues Collection. Suggested searches include:
- "Firstname Lastname" exhibition
- "Institution name" exhibition
- "Institution name" year of exhibition
- "Exhibition title"
For example: "Liz Magor" exhibition, "Belkin art gallery" exhibition, "Vancouver art gallery" 1968, "Vancouver Special: Ambivalent Pleasures."
Catalogues are identified in the item record by their Location: I.K. BARBER Library Canadian exhibitions (non-circulating).
Accessing the Collection
To access items from this collection, go to the Information Desk on Level 3 of the Music, Art and Architecture Library during Reference Hours and library staff will assist you in retrieving these materials. The Canadian Art Exhibition Catalogues are Library Use Only and must must viewed onsite within the library.
You may use the library's scanners or copiers to copy these materials for educational use and personal research. For further details on copyright guidelines and citation recommendations, see Citing Sources.
Note: Additional exhibition catalogues by Canadian artists can be found in the Artist Files, within the Vertical Files Collection. The Vertical Files are located on Level 3 of the Music, Art & Architecture Library. For more information, see the Artist Files section of this guide.
Duplicate copies of some Canadian exhibition catalgoues are in the stacks on Levels 3 & 4 of the Music, Art & Architecture Library.