Ask, Listen, Empower: Grounding your Library Work in Community Engagement by Mary Davis Fournier (Editor); Sarah Ostman (Editor); Tracie D. Hall (Foreword by)Foreword by Tracie D. Hall Community engagement isn't simply an important component of a successful library--it's the foundation upon which every service, offering, and initiative rests. Working collaboratively with community members--be they library customers, residents, faculty, students or partner organizations-- ensures that the library works, period. This important resource from ALA's Public Programs Office (PPO) provides targeted guidance on how libraries can effectively engage with the public to address a range of issues for the betterment of the community. Featuring contributions by leaders active in library-led community engagement, it's designed to be equally useful as a teaching text for LIS students and a go-to handbook for current programming, adult services, and outreach library staff. Balancing historical context with case studies and stories from field, this collection explores such key topics as why libraries belong in the community engagement realm; the differences and overlap between outreach, engagement, and advocacy; getting the support of board and staff; how to understand your community; pointers on telling your story for maximum impact; the ethics and challenges of engaging often unreached segments of the community; identifying and building engaged partnerships; archives and community engagement; engaged programming; and outcome measurement. Sharing numerous examples of successful change, dialogue and deliberation, and collaborative efforts, this book offers a comprehensive look at community engagement work that can help all libraries reinforce their roles as champions of lifelong learning.
Publication Date: 2021-01-08
The Cambridge Handbook of Service Learning and Community Engagement by Corey Dolgon (Editor); Timothy K. Eatman (Editor); Tania D. Mitchell (Editor)With contributions from leading experts across disciplinary fields, this book explores best practices from the field's most notable researchers, as well as important historically based and politically focused challenges to a field whose impact has reached an important crossroads. The comprehensive and powerfully critical analysis considers the history of community engagement and service learning, best teaching practices and pedagogies, engagement across disciplines, and current research and policies - and contemplates the future of the field. The book will not only inform faculty, staff, and students on ways to improve their work, but also suggest a bigger social and political focus for programs intended to seriously establish democracy and social justice in their communities and campuses.
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Civic Engagement Community-Based Initiatives and Governance Capacity by Jurian Edelenbos; Astrid Molenveld; Ingmar van Meerkerk"This book intends to theoretically conceptualize and empirically investigate upcoming and established practices of community-based initiatives in various countries in which both citizens and governments join efforts and capacities to solve wicked issues. It aims to include and compare cases from various countries, departing from the notion that community-based initiatives take place in an institutional context of governmental structures, rules, procedures, regulations, and routines. This leads to government involvement in these initiatives and sharing the public space. Furthermore, the editors take into account what kind of leadership roles, knowledge, and resources are present and how they evolve in this collaborative or coordinative effort, which in turn can enhance the capacities of community-based initiatives. This book joins excellent researchers from renowned universities all over the world, aiming for a balance between upcoming scholars and renowned scholars in the field of community-based initiatives and governance capacity. Contributors were carefully selected on the basis of their experience in the field of community-based initiatives, citizens' engagement and governance capacity approaches. Aimed at researchers and academics, this volume will be of interest to those in the fields of business, economics, public administration, political science, social enterprise, sociology and third sector studies"--
Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Community Engagement Findings Across the Disciplines by Heather K. Evans (Editor)This book is a reference for administrators and educators at institutions of higher learning who are thinking about taking serious steps to link their educational mission to helping their surrounding communities. Various research findings across the disciplines in higher education about integrating community engagement in traditional coursework are presented. This book provides a multi-disciplinary and multi-method approach to both incorporating and studying the effects of community engagement (service learning) in the curriculum. Multiple departments, from Kinesiology to Sociology, as well as various types of classes (undergraduate, graduate, online, face-to-face, traditional, international) are represented here. Both qualitative and quantitative work is included. Methods involved include interviews, case studies, reflections, and surveys. One chapter also uses longitudinal data collection to address the overall effect of engaging in community engagement during the undergraduate college experience. If you are not sure how to study the effects of community engagement on students at your university, this book is for you.
Call Number: LC238 .C666 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-25
A Cultural Historical Approach to Social Displacement and University-Community Engagement by Charles Underwood; Mara Welsh Mahmood; Olga VasquezIn a time of worldwide turmoil and pervasive social displacement, universities and communities have come together to meet these urgent challenges in order to support the academic and social development of displaced young people from diverse cultural and linguistic backgrounds. It is crucial to understand and review how institutions, as well as individuals and collaborative groups, have worked together to expand institutional culture and practice in a process of cross-institutional expansive learning. A Cultural Historical Approach to Social Displacement and University-Community Engagement: Emerging Research and Opportunities focuses on university-community collaborative engagement as a strategic response to widespread social displacement and its implications for the educational and social development of underserved young people from displaced communities. Using a cultural historical perspective, the book offers a comparative study of collaborative engagement in multiple programs involving university and community partners in long-term efforts to address the social displacement and educational development of local young people. Specifically, it examines University-Community Links (UC Links), an international network of partnerships between universities and communities that has been addressing the educational implications of social displacement for over 20 years. This book is ideal for school faculty, students, university administrators, local community leaders, community-based organization leaders, local political leaders, teachers, and school partners, as well as researchers, practitioners, and stakeholders interested in discourse on university-community engagement in higher education, K-12, and local and state decision-making arenas.
Engineering and Social Justice by Alice Pawley (Editor); Caroline Baillie (Editor)This book is aimed at engineering academics worldwide, who are attempting to bring social justice into their work and practice, or who would like to but don't know where to start. This is the first book dedicated specifically to University professionals on Engineering and Social Justice, an emerging and exciting area of research and practice. An international team of multidisciplinary authors share their insights and invite and inspire us to reformulate the way we work. Each chapter is based on research and yet presents the outcomes of scholarly studies in a user oriented style. We look at all three areas of an engineering academic's professional role: research, teaching and community engagement.Some of our team have created classes which help students think through their role as engineering practitioners in society. Others are focusing their research on outcomes that are socially just and for client groups who are marginalized and powerless. Yet others are consciously engaging local community groups and exploring ways in which the University might?serve' communities at home and globally from a post-development perspective. We are additionally concerned with the student cohort and who has access to engineering studies. We take a broad social and ecological justice perspective to critique existing and explore alternative practices.This book is a handbook for any engineering academic, who wishes to develop engineering graduates as well as technologies and practices that are non-oppressive, equitable and engaged. It is also an essential reader for anyone studying in this interdisciplinary juncture of social science and engineering. Scholars using a critical theoretical lens on engineering practice and education, from Science and Technology Studies, History and Philosophy of Engineering, Engineering and Science Education will find this text invaluable.
The Impact of Co-Production: From Community Engagement To Social Justice by Aksel Ersoy (Editor)Bringing together academics, artists, practitioners and 'community activists', this book explores the possibilities for, and tensions of, social justice work under the contemporary drive for community-orientated 'impact' in the academy.Threading a line between celebratory accounts of institutionalised community engagement, self-professed 'radical' scholarship for social change and critical accounts of the governmentalisation of community, the book makes an original contribution to all three fields of scholarship. Showcasing experimental research and co-production practices taking place in the UK, Australia, Sweden and Canada and within universities, independent research organisations and internationally prestigious museums and galleries, the book considers what research impact could look like for a wide range of audiences and how universities could engage with different publics in ways that would be relevant and useful, but may not necessarily be easily measurable. Asking hard questions of the current impact agenda, the book offers an insight into emerging routes towards co-production for social justice.
Learning Through Community Engagement by Judyth Sachs (Editor); Lindie Clark (Editor)This book charts the development of a whole-institution approach to university-community engagement at a modern Australian university, highlighting the pivotal role that curriculum renewal can play in organizational transformation. It describes how Macquarie University's PACE (Professional and Community Engagement) program developed and fostered a culture of learning that has been at the center of academic renewal, differentiation, and institutional change. It details the development of the PACE pedagogical model, the establishment of the network of stakeholder relationships which underpin it, and the embedding of the model across the whole institution. Authored by those directly involved in the change project, this book tells the story of PACE, its achievements, challenges, success factors and future directions. A series of dovetailing contributions by leading international scholars of university-community engagement set the PACE story in its global context. This book adds to the scholarship of learning through community engagement, provides international perspectives on trends and issues in university-community engagement, contributes to a broader understanding of the practice and pedagogy of community engagement, and discusses the challenges and opportunities of implementing and sustaining change in the higher education sector.
Publication Date: 2016-08-19
Learning with Women in Jail: Creating Community-Based Participatory Research by Jill McCrackenIn this monograph, the ethical implications of engaging in research with vulnerable populations is explored and demonstrates how Community Based Participatory Research (CBPR) both enhances the research while addressing these ethical complexities. Although CBPR encompasses different levels of community engagement, in general, the participants, or co-researchers, are involved in the formulation of the research questions and methodologies because they are central to the conversation about what should be researched and how. Participants are directly involved in formulating the study problems and finding solutions, and usually the goal is to create social change that can be applied to and potentially transform the community. Learning with Women in Jail: Creating Community Based Participatory Research documents the research process to better understand the causes for incarceration and recidivism.The study used a (CBPR) framework so that the people who had directly experienced incarceration would lead the research as much as possible, from framing the research questions and methodologies to data capture and analysis. ​
Publication Date: 2019-10-30
The Morehouse Model: How One School of Medicine Revolutionized Community Engagement and Health Equity by Ronald L. Braithwaite; Tabia Henry Akintobi; Daniel S. Blumenthal; W. Mary Langley; Valerie Montgomery Rice (Foreword by)How can the example of Morehouse School of Medicine help other health-oriented universities create ideal collaborations between faculty and community-based organizations? Among the 154 medical schools in the United States, Morehouse School of Medicine stands out for its formidable success in improving its surrounding communities. Over its history, Morehouse has become known as an institution committed to community engagement with an interest in closing the health equity gap between people of color and the white majority population. In The Morehouse Model, Ronald L. Braithwaite and his coauthors reveal the lessons learned over the decades since the school's founding--lessons that other medical schools and health systems will be eager to learn in the hope of replicating Morehouse's success. Describing the philosophical, cultural, and contextual grounding of the Morehouse Model, they give concrete examples of it in action before explaining how to foster the collaboration between community-based organizations and university faculty that is essential to making this model of care and research work. Arguing that establishing ongoing collaborative projects requires genuineness, transparency, and trust from everyone involved, the authors offer a theory of citizen participation as a critical element for facilitating behavioral change. Drawing on case studies, exploratory research, surveys, interventions, and secondary analysis, they extrapolate lessons to advance the field of community-based participatory research alongside community health. Written by well-respected leaders in the effort to reduce health inequities, The Morehouse Model is rooted in social action and social justice constructs. It will be a touchstone for anyone conducting community-based participatory research, as well as any institution that wants to have a positive effect on its local community.
Publication Date: 2020-06-16
Participatory Health Research: Voices from Around the World by Michael T. Wright (Editor); Krystyna Kongats (Editor)This groundbreaking resource explores core issues in participatory health research (PHR) and traces its global emergence as a force for improving health and well-being, healthcare services, and quality of life. The PHR approach is defined as including community members, health practitioners, and decision-makers as co-researchers, using local knowledge to reduce disparities in care, advocate for responsive health policy, and accelerate positive change in society as a whole. The book's first half surveys themes essential to the development of the field, including evaluating PHR projects, training professionals in conducting PHR, and the ambitious work of the International Collaboration for Participatory Health Research. International perspectives showcase the varied roles of PHR in addressing urgent local health problems in their specific public health and sociocultural contexts. Among the topics covered: Demonstrating impact in participatory health research Reviewing the effectiveness of participatory health research: challenges and possible solutions Kids in Action--participatory health research with children Participatory health research: an Indian perspective Participatory health research in Latin America: scientific production on chronic diseases Participatory health research in North America: from community engagement to evidence-informed practice Participatory Health Research benefits those teaching and learning about participatory health research at institutions of higher education and in community settings, addressing diverse fields including health promotion and disease prevention, medicine and public health, quality of life, social work, and community development.
Publication Date: 2018-10-20
Place-Based Community Engagement in Higher Education by Erica K. Yamamura; Kent Koth; Geoffrey Canada (Foreword by)While an increasing number of universities have or are committed to engaging their campuses in their surrounding communities, many recognize they lack the strategic focus and resources to maximize and sustain their impact on those communities. Place-based community engagement provides a powerful way to creatively connect campus and community to foster positive social transformation. In developing community engagement strategies, most universities and community organizations face significant challenges in deciding who to partner with and why. Frequently this leads universities and community organizations to say "yes" to too many opportunities which significantly limit their ability to pursue long-term impact. Focusing on an established geographic area can make it much easier to decide where to deploy resources and which partnerships to prioritize and thus increase their ability to form strong and sustainable partnerships that are of greater value to all stakeholders. This book presents the emerging model of place-based community engagement as a powerful process for attaining more positive and enduring results in their local communities as well as stimulating wider engagement by campus constituencies. Drawing upon the concept of collective impact and using data-driven decision making, place-based initiatives build long-term partnerships based upon a shared vision. Done thoughtfully, these place-based initiatives have attained impressive results. Drawing upon the case studies of five institutions that have implemented place-based community engagement initiatives, the authors provide guidance on the opportunities, challenges, and considerations involved in putting a place-based approach into effect. By sharing the experiences of these five institutions, they describe in detail the routes each took to turn their place-based initiatives from concept to reality, and the results they achieved.
Call Number: LC238 .Y36 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-22
Practising Community-Based Participatory Research: Stories of Engagement, Empowerment, and Mobilization by Shauna MacKinnon (Editor)There is increasing pressure on university scholars to reach beyond the "ivory tower" and engage in collaborative research with communities. But what exactly is community-based participatory research (CBPR) and what does engagement look like? This book presents stories about CBPR from Manitoba Research Alliance projects in marginalized communities. Bringing together experienced researchers with new scholars and community practitioners, the stories describe the impetus for the projects, how they came to be implemented, and how CBPR is still being used within the community. By providing space for researchers and their collaborators to share the stories behind their research, this book offers rich insights into the power and practice of CBPR.
Publication Date: 2018-04-01
Rethinking Second Language Learning: Using Intergenerational Community Resources by Marisa Cordella (Editor); Hui Huang (Editor)This book evaluates a project where formal classroom learning of a second language was supplemented with informal, natural interactions with older native speakers of the target language, delivering a number of pedagogical and societal benefits. The authors introduce a model of intergenerational, intercultural encounters which aims to promote the use of community language resources; enrich the experiences of young learners; foster greater understanding between generations; break down cultural stereotypes; encourage appreciation of different cultures and enhance the quality of life and community engagement of older people with a bi/multilingual background. It draws on theories of language acquisition, discourse analysis and psychosocial perspectives to propose a model of language learning for students that can be used for any language or locality. It is therefore an essential resource for graduate students, researchers and language teachers as well as for education, aged and youth care policy makers, practitioners and community services workers who are interested in innovative language pedagogy.
Call Number: P118.2 .R478 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-19
Student Development and Social Change Through Community Engagement by Tessa Hicks PetersonThis book weaves together critical components of student development and community building for social justice to prepare students to engage effectively in community-campus partnerships for social change. The author combines diverse theoretical models such as critical pedagogy, asset-based community development, and healing justice with lessons from programs promoting indigenous knowledge, decolonization, and mindfulness. Most importantly, this book links theory to practice, offering service-learning classroom activities, course and community partnership criteria, learning outcomes, and assessment rubrics. It speaks to students, faculty, administrators, and community members who are interested in utilizing community engagement as a vehicle for the development of students and communities towards wellbeing and social justice.
Publication Date: 2017-10-18
Student Experiences and Educational Outcomes in Community Engagement for the 21st Century by Cathryn Crosby (Editor); Frederick Brockmeier (Editor)Today's students face the challenge of finding a career and a passion while facing economic uncertainty. Service learning has the potential to challenge and inspire students as they hone their skills. An increasingly popular subject, service and experiential learning are changing the way education is taught worldwide. Student Experiences and Educational Outcomes in Community Engagement for the 21st Century collects and analyzes students' experiences in diverse service-learning contexts, giving fodder for rethinking strategies and finding optimal pedagogies for successful community engagement. This unique publication is ideal for educators, administrators, policy makers, and students of education.
Publication Date: 2016-09-20
Youth Engagement and Community-Based Participatory Research: The Bipolar Youth Action Project by Elliott, Nusha BalramThe Bipolar Youth Action Project took place in Victoria, BC, over 2 years. It was a community-based participatory research project co-led by a team of youth researchers who live with bipolar disorder, an academic researcher, and the lead of a community mental health organization. The Bipolar Youth Action Project explored (1) what wellness, or self-management, strategies youth with bipolar disorder use to stay well, and (2) how youth chose to share those strategies with the wider community.