MGMT 449 Digital and Social Media Marketing

If you have a journal article, report, book or book chapter, audiovisual material, or news or magazine article retrieved from a business database, use the APA rules for those sources. However, some formats from business sources are not covered under typical APA rules.

Do not include database names for reports obtained from common academic business databases such as Business Source (Ebsco Host) and ABI/Inform (ProQuest) - instead, use the template for reports. Do not include a retrieval link.

Do provide the database name where the database is not one usually found in academic institutions, or that primarily has proprietary content, such as IBISWorld, BCC Research, Bloomberg, Passport.

(APA, 2020, p. 297. See also Databases with Original, Proprietary Content)

Include a retrieval date when the content changes over time, and the archived content is not made available (APA, 2020, p. 290).

The Academic Business Librarians of BC have created an APA for Business Sources guide with examples and explanations of how to cite more business databases. Contact a UBC business librarian for help with citing business sources.

EXAMPLE - SWOT analysis by Marketline, from Business Source Ultimate database

Marketline. (2020, April 4). Apple Inc.: Company profile.

Parenthetical in-text citation: (Marketline, 2020)

Narrative in-text citation: Marketline (2020)

EXAMPLE - Industry report from IBISWorld database

McGrath, S. (2019, November). Software publishing in Canada: Industry report 51121CA. IBISWorld. Retrieved June 23, 2020 from https://ibisworld.com

Parenthetical in-text citation: (McGrath, 2019)

Narrative in-text citation: McGrath (2019)

EXAMPLE - Market research report from BCC Research database

McWilliams, A. (2019, November). Bionics: Technologies and global markets (Report No. HLC196B). BCC Research. Retrieved June 29, 2020 from https://www.bccresearch.com 

Parenthetical in-text citation: (McWilliams, 2019)

Narrative in-text citation: McWilliams (2019)