Database recommendations for MGMT 449
UBC Library subscribes to many, many databases with content that could be useful for your projects! On this page you'll find some recommended databases. Contact Kim if you'd like to learn more about using them or to have recommendations for databases and search strategies customized for your project.
Marketing & market research databases
These databases are useful for industry and market research. Some are particularly useful for marketing, including eMarketer and WARC (World Advertising Research Center).
-
BCC Research
Provides market analysis and forecasting on a wide range of major emerging technological and scientific developments in the industrial, pharmaceutical and high technology sectors worldwide.
-
CB InsightsThe CB Insights tech market intelligence platform analyzes millions of data points on venture capital, startups, patents, partnerships and news mentions to predict emerging technologies and trends.
-
eMarketerMarket research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.
-
GartnerIT-focused database with content on digital marketing strategies and trends
-
IBISWorld Industry ReportsContains full-text market research reports for Canadian, US and global industries. Reports cover industry structure, trends, competitive landscape and operating conditions.
-
MarketResearch.com AcademicMarket research reports for consumer products, demographics, food, beverage, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and more. Includes reports from various sources, including Freedonia Focus, Packaged Facts and Kalorama.
-
Passport GMIDInternational statistical and market research reports for over 200 countries, covering consumer products and services, demographic and lifestyle reports and economic data.
-
Statista
A simple to use statistics portal that integrates statistics from thousands of sources, on topics related to business, media, public policy, health and others.
-
Warc : World Advertising Research CenterFull-text articles, reports and case studies on advertising. Includes advertising expenditure data. Can search by brand, advertiser, and agency.
Survey research databases
Two databases, Statista and Vivintel include their own consumer survey research from which you can create customized tables to learn about your target audience and its preferred marketing channels and consumer preferences and habits. Vivintel focuses on Canadian consumers, while Statista is international in scope and can be limited to your preferred geography.
-
Statista
A simple to use statistics portal that integrates statistics from thousands of sources, on topics related to business, media, public policy, health and others.
In Statista, go to Insights > Consumer insights to select variables and build a cross-tabular analysis. The below YouTube video is a good quick demonstration of how to use Consumer Insights.
-
VivintelData on Canadian consumers, print readership, product usage and lifestyles. (Formerly Vividata and Print Measurement Bureau)
Refer to this Vivintel User Guide (with commentary added by SFU Library) to understand more about the database and how to use it - see in particular How to Read a Table on page 34.
General business research databases
Articles and news for marketing - via general business databases
Use articles to research your industry, your customers, your competitors, your risks, and potential distribution or marketing strategies. Articles and news sources can help you keep current, get an idea or spot trends.
Learn the basics of searching for articles in business databases in our short video below, or refer to our Research Tips guide for for examples of how to search article databases effectively, like using single words or short phrases.
(Sample video content from Business Source Ultimate database used by permission of EBSCO Publishing.)
General business databases
The below databases are good for all business topics. Web of Science is a general database with lots of business content. ABI/INFORM and Business Source also contain industry reports.
-
ABI/INFORM CollectionABI/INFORM Collection is a comprehensive business database, which contains journals, business periodicals, dissertations, and country-and industry-focused reports.
-
Business Source UltimateProvides access to journal articles, books and videos related to business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting. Use for finding articles, case studies, and company and industry information.
-
Web of Science Core CollectionMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
