Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Streaming Media at UBC Library

Major Collections

Audio Cine Films

Offers access to 1000s of titles from major film studios including: Walt Disney Pictures, Pixar, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Tristar Pictures, Universal Studios Canada, MGM Studios, and more. Titles in the collection are listed in the Library's catalogue

Criterion on Demand

Over 2000 streamed feature films including classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features

Kanopy

Streaming video service for educational institutions with film content ranging from documentaries to award-winning movies. Requests are mediated by Library staff with a focus on providing access to films requested for course use.

NFB Campus (National Film Board)

Provides access to online viewing of films produced by the National Film Board of Canada (NFB).
Find the titles in the collection listed here

Canadian Content

Curio

Streaming access to educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada.

NFB Campus (National Film Board)
Provides access to online viewing of films produced by the National Film Board of Canada (NFB).

Find the titles in the collection listed here

Humanities

Medici.tv

Audio-visual material related to classical music, opera, and dance.

OnArchitecture

Audiovisual database featuring the main trends in the field of architecture.

OntheBoards.tv

Streaming videos in the field of contemporary performance, including dance, theatre, music, and more..

Opera on Video

Important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.

Pidgeon Digital

A collection of historical and recent talks given by some of the world's most important architectural professionals.

Routledge Performance Archive

Audio-visual material from past and present performance practitioners. 

Theater in Video

Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries. Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Hamlet, Othello, Awake and Sing, Long Day's Journey Into Night, Playboy of the Western World, and others.

Life Sciences

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 5th Edition

Head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course.

Concept Media Streaming Video Collection

Streaming collection of health videos.

ClinicalKey

Access to thousands of medical videos, and more. 

Mosby's Nursing Skills

Interactive videos showing key nursing procedures. 

Social Sciences

CARMA Video Library

Videos from internationally recognized scholars on a variety of research methods (including qualitative and quantitative) and also insights into current issues in research methods.

Digital Himalaya

 Ethnographic materials from the Himalayan region including streaming films.

Ethnographic Video Online

Streaming ethnographic video database. Features the work of many influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

Global Environmental Justice Collection

The documentaries in this collection are suitable for use in a wide range of subject areas including Asian, Indigenous and environmental studies, geography, film making, journalism, anthropology, conservation biology, forestry, soil sciences, religion and the humanities.

Psychotherapy.net

 Offers access to training videos in the fields of Psychotherapy, Counseling and Social Work.

Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda

The Library has access to module 1: Wars & Revolutions. This module explores many of the conflicts, tensions, and uprisings of the twentieth century from the unique perspective of socialist filmmakers around the globe.  

Trial Resources

UBC Library trials resources to gauge interest from our users. There is no guarantee the resources will be purchased or available after the trial period ends. 

View our current trials for video resources here