Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Clinical Faculty

Medicine and Health

Key Databases in Medicine and Health

MEDLINE: The premier medical database. Covers medicine and the life sciences with more than 34 million journal articles. 1946 to present online. The UBC library offers three interfaces to this essential resource.

EMBASE (Ovid): International (and European-focused) biomedical database as a complement to MEDLINE with strengths in drug-related subjects.

CINAHL (EBSCO): Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Contains journal articles, book chapters, and theses. Includes rehabilitation science and psychosocial medicine. 1982 to present.

DynaMed Plus: next-generation clinical reference tool for fast, easy access to point-of-care decision support. A point-of-care reference tool containing clinically-oriented summaries for 3,200+ topics.

PsycINFO( EBSCO) (includes full text from PsycARTICLES): Psychology. Citation database with journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and citations for dissertations. Historical articles dating back to the 17th century to present.

Systematic Reviews

Systematic Reviews

ACP Journal Club:  Best new evidence for internal medicine.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR): Regularly-updated systematic reviews from the Cochrane Collaboration. Includes completed reviews and review protocols.

EBM Reviews (Ovid): Combines the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, ACP Journal Club, Health Technology Assessment, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Methodology Register, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials into a single fully-searchable database.

For more information, see our subject guide https://guides.library.ubc.ca/SystematicReviews