Education Library Video Tutorials

Welcome and Getting Help from the Library

After watching this video, you will:

• be ready to watch all of the Education Library's research tutorials;
• understand the type of support you can expect from the education librarians; and,
• know methods for contacting the librarians when you need assistance.

Helpful Links and More Information:

• Education Library Website
• Your Library Account

Searching in the UBC Library

• identify and access Summon, UBC Library's main search engine;
• perform a search for a variety of library materials through Summon;
• apply filters to refine search results; and,
• save and send citations for UBC Library resources.

Helpful Links and More Information:

• UBC Library Website
• Summon Help Guide
• Getting Started on Your Research
• Connecting to the UBC Library From Home

Advanced Searching in Summon

After watching this video, you will:

• know how to use the advanced search page to find UBC Library materials;
• understand three advanced search strategies, including phrase searching, truncation, and Boolean Logic; and,
• be prepared to apply these strategies to create more effective searches.

Helpful Links and More Information:

• Summon Help: Search Strategies

Finding Journals and Journal Articles

After watching this video, you will be able to:

• apply search filters to find journal articles;
• search for journal articles assigned by your instructors; and,
• find a specific article, even when searching for the title does not return any results.

• Finding Resources: Journal Articles

Searching in Education Databases

After watching this video, you will:

• be able to distinguish education databases from other information sources;
• understand the benefits of searching in education databases;
• know how to connect to key education databases; and,
• know how to search for, save, and cite sources in education databases.

Helpful Links and More Information:

• Key Education Databases

Advanced Searching in Education Databases

After watching this video, you will know:

• which advanced Summon search strategies you can use in Education databases;
• how to search multiple Education databases simultaneously; and,
• how to use a database thesaurus to find subject headings and choose effective keywords.

Helpful Links and More Information:

• Database Search Strategies

Searching in Google Scholar

• understand the benefits of searching in Google Scholar;
• know a few of Google Scholar's most valuable search features;
• be able to customize Google Scholar for use with the UBC Library; and,
• know how to search for, save, and cite sources in Google Scholar.

NOTE: When linking your Google account to UBC Library in the Library links section, only one of the following needs to be selected:

• University of British Columbia - UBC eLink
• University of British Columbia Library - UBC eLink

Helpful Links and More Information:

• Connect to Google Scholar

Education Research Guide

After watching this video, you will know:

• what research guides are;
• how to find all UBC research guides online; and,
• which resources you can find on the Education Research Guide.

Helpful Links and More Information:

• Education Research Guide
• UBC Research Guides

Using Distance Education Services (VIDEO UPDATE COMING SOON)

• understand the services through which the UBC Library can support you as a distance education student
• know the three steps you need to take in order to begin using distance services, including:
  • connecting to and reading the distance education guide
  • obtaining your UBC card
  • registering for delivery services
• know how to access UBC resources electronically through EZproxy. UPDATE: To learn more about connecting to library resources, please visit the OpenAthens Connect guide. 

• Distance Education Students Guide
• Apply for your UBC card online
• How to connect to library resources: OpenAthens Connect Guide
• Register for distance delivery services

Document Delivery and InterLibrary Loan

• know how to use Document Delivery to have UBC Library resources to your campus or home address;
• know how to use InterLibrary Loan to borrow items from non-UBC libraries; and, 
• be able to make and track Document Delivery and InterLibrary loan requests online.

• About Document Delivery
• About InterLibrary Loan
• Document Delivery and InterLibrary Loan System

Using cIRcle

After watching this video, you will be able to:

• connect to UBC's institutional repository cIRcle;
• explain what contents get published in cIRcle;
• find instructions for submitting your work for publication; and,
• perform a search for cIRcle contents through UBC's Open Collections.

Helpful Links and More Information:

• cIRcle Website
• Contact Information for cIRcle Questions
• Step-by-Step Submission Guide

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and Dictionaries: Resources to Start Your Research

After watching this video, you will know:

• which resources to consult in the early stages of research;
• how encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries can help you choose and narrow down a research topic; and,
• how to search for Education encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries.

• Education Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and Dictionaries
  • This is a list of some our most popular encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries, organized by subtopic. Although it features many of our reference materials, it is not exhaustive.

After watching this video, you will be able to:

• Define policy and grey literature
• Identify different sources of Education policy information
• Use the Education Research Guide to find policy information

Identifying Indigenous Search Terms

Basic Library Tutorials