Skip to main content

Education Library Video Tutorials

Getting Help from Librarians

Welcome and Getting Help from the Library

After watching this video, you will:

  • be ready to watch all of the Education Library's research tutorials;
  • understand the type of support you can expect from the education librarians; and,
  • know methods for contacting the librarians when you need assistance.

Helpful Links and More Information:

Searching in UBC Library

Searching in the UBC Library

After watching this video, you will be able to:
  • identify and access Summon, UBC Library's main search engine;
  • perform a search for a variety of library materials through Summon;
  • apply filters to refine search results; and,
  • save and send citations for UBC Library resources.

Helpful Links and More Information:

 

Advanced Searching in Summon

After watching this video, you will:

  • know how to use the advanced search page to find UBC Library materials;
  • understand three advanced search strategies, including phrase searching, truncation, and Boolean Logic; and,
  • be prepared to apply these strategies to create more effective searches.

Helpful Links and More Information:

 

Finding Journals and Journal Articles

After watching this video, you will be able to:

  • apply search filters to find journal articles;
  • search for journal articles assigned by your instructors; and,
  • find a specific article, even when searching for the title does not return any results.

Helpful Links and More Information:

Searching in Education Databases

Searching in Education Databases

After watching this video, you will:

  • be able to distinguish education databases from other information sources;
  • understand the benefits of searching in education databases;
  • know how to connect to key education databases; and,
  • know how to search for, save, and cite sources in education databases.

Helpful Links and More Information:

 

Advanced Searching in Education Databases

After watching this video, you will know:

  • which advanced Summon search strategies you can use in Education databases;
  • how to search multiple Education databases simultaneously; and,
  • how to use a database thesaurus to find subject headings and choose effective keywords.

Helpful Links and More Information:

Searching in Google Scholar

Searching in Google Scholar

After watching this video, you will:
  • understand the benefits of searching in Google Scholar;
  • know a few of Google Scholar's most valuable search features;
  • be able to customize Google Scholar for use with the UBC Library; and,
  • know how to search for, save, and cite sources in Google Scholar.

Helpful Links and More Information:

Education Research Guide

Education Research Guide

After watching this video, you will know:

  • what research guides are;
  • how to find all UBC research guides online; and,
  • which resources you can find on the Education Research Guide.

Helpful Links and More Information:

Using Citation Managers

Choosing a Citation Manager

After watching this video, you will know:

  • the benefits of incorporating a citation manager into your research;
  • the common features of citation management tools; and,
  • which questions to consider when selecting a citation manager.

Helpful Links and More Information:

 

Using RefWorks

After watching this video, you will know:

  • how to create and log in to a RefWorks account from the RefWorks library guide;
  • how to create citations and bibliographies in RefWorks;
  • how to export citations into RefWorks from Summon, Google Scholar, and subject databases; and,
  • how to upload and annotate articles in RefWorks.

Helpful Links and More Information:

Using Distance Services

Using Distance Education Services

After watching this video, you will:
  • understand the services through which the UBC Library can support you as a distance education student
  • know the three steps you need to take in order to begin using distance services, including:
    • connecting to and reading the distance education guide
    • obtaining your UBC card
    • registering for delivery services
  • know how to access UBC resources electronically through EZproxy.

Helpful Links and More Information:

 

Document Delivery and InterLibrary Loan

After watching this video, you will:
  • know how to use Document Delivery to have UBC Library resources to your campus or home address;
  • know how to use InterLibrary Loan to borrow items from non-UBC libraries; and, 
  • be able to make and track Document Delivery and InterLibrary loan requests online.

Helpful Links and More Information:

Searching in cIRcle

Using cIRcle

After watching this video, you will be able to:

  • connect to UBC's institutional repository cIRcle;
  • explain what contents get published in cIRcle;
  • find instructions for submitting your work for publication; and,
  • perform a search for cIRcle contents through UBC's Open Collections.

Helpful Links and More Information:

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and Dictionaries: Resources for Starting Research

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and Dictionaries: Resources to Start Your Research

After watching this video, you will know:

  • which resources to consult in the early stages of research;
  • how encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries can help you choose and narrow down a research topic; and,
  • how to search for Education encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries.

Identifying Indigenous Search Terms

Identifying Indigenous Search Terms

Other Tutorials

Basic Library Tutorials

Basic UBC Library tutorials cover overviews of library topics and tools including: using the library website, Summon and accessing resources from home.