Core Databases for Finding Research
-
MEDLINE (Ovid)
Premier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
-
PubMed (1946 - present)Premier database containing over 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version with UBC elink.
-
CINAHL (via EBSCOhost) - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health LiteratureKey database in nursing and allied health.
-
Embase (Ovid)International (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related and rehabilitation sciences subjects.
-
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)The main article index for Linguistics. Indexes journals, books, technical reports, papers, dissertations, and book reviews in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
-
PsycInfo (Includes full text from PsycArticles) (via EBSCO)Covers psychology and the psychological aspects of various other disciplines. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations.
-
ERIC (EBSCO interface)Most comprehensive education index, covering nearly 1000 journals, primarily American. Also indexes ERIC documents, including conferences, curricula, reports etc. ERIC (EBSCO) includes many links to full text.
-
Compendex Engineering VillagePremier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies.
-
Communication & Mass Media CompleteA research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. Indexes and abstracts over 800 journals, and includes access to 500 full text journals.
-
LILACSLILACS is the most important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Additional Databases
-
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)Full-text access to regularly updated systematic reviews by the Cochrane Collaboration. Includes completed systematic reviews and review protocols in development.
-
Web of Science Core CollectionMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
-
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)Citations to controlled trials identified by the contributors of the Cochrane Collaboration.
-
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)The collection of reviews of reviews provides critical assessments of systematic reviews. It was produced by the UK National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) between 1994 and March 2015.
-
EBM Reviews (Ovid)One-stop searching of 7 evidence-based medicine databases in the Cochrane Library.
-
ClinicalKeyClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
