Core Databases for Finding Research
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowPremier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
- PubMed (1946 - present) This link opens in a new windowPremier database containing over 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version with UBC elink.
- CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowKey database in nursing and allied health.
- EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowInternational (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related and rehabilitation sciences subjects.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowThe main article index for Linguistics. Indexes journals, books, technical reports, papers, dissertations, and book reviews in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
- PsycInfo (includes full text from PsycArticles) This link opens in a new windowCovers psychology and the psychological aspects of various other disciplines. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations.
- ERIC (EBSCO interface) This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive education index, covering nearly 1000 journals, primarily American. Also indexes ERIC documents, including conferences, curricula, reports etc. ERIC (EBSCO) includes many links to full text.
- Compendex Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowPremier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowA research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. Indexes and abstracts over 800 journals, and includes access to 500 full text journals.
- LILACSLILACS is the most important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Additional Databases
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to regularly updated systematic reviews by the Cochrane Collaboration. Includes completed systematic reviews and review protocols in development.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications.
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) This link opens in a new windowCitations to controlled trials identified by the contributors of the Cochrane Collaboration.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) This link opens in a new windowThe collection of reviews of reviews provides critical assessments of systematic reviews. It was produced by the UK National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) between 1994 and March 2015.
- EBM Reviews (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowOne-stop searching of 7 evidence-based medicine databases in the Cochrane Library.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
Background Information
- LWW Health LibraryIncludes sections for Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech Language Hearing, Exercise Science, Exercise Science, Pharmacy, and Medical Education. To print pages and use self-assessment tools register an account with LWW Health Library
- AccessMedicineApproximately 40 e-books, including a clinical library (Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and more), Lange Educational Library, a USMLE self-assessment tool, 50+ clinical cases, and various study materials including flashcards, notes, and multiple-choice review questions.
- Books@OVIDIncludes full text, references, updates, and graphics from several respected texts in medicine, nursing, and pharmacy. Search (or browse) one textbook, browse by subject area, or choose "search all". Color diagrams, charts, and illustrations are available as thumbnails or full graphics.
- Sage Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods Online is a web-based research methods tool created to support researchers and students as they explore relevant content across the social and behavioural sciences, covering quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods.
- ClinicalKeyClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
- DynamedIncludes overviews and drug therapy recommendations for various medical conditions, drug information, and a drug interaction checker.
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis & TherapyIncludes diagnostic and therapeutic information in internal medicine, pediatrics, psychiatry, obstetrics, gynecology, dermatology, pharmacology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, rehabilitation, and a number of special subjects. Available online.
- MedlinePlus (Consumer Health)Freely-searchable consumer health information site linking to simple overviews, dictionaries, directories, organizations and news for ~750 topics.
- PEDroPEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 23,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- PhysiopediaThe free comprehensive online reference written by physiotherapists for physiotherapists.
- SpeechBITECurated speech pathology intervention studies to support evidence based practice.
Search UBC Library catalogue
Stay Up-to-Date
- Current Awareness ToolsSaved searches, database and journal alerts.
- Read This link opens in a new window