Defining the Question
EBP Databases for Audiology and Speech Sciences
- ASHA Evidence mapsEvidence maps are intended to provide clinicians, researchers, clients, and caregivers with tools and guidance to engage in evidence-based decision making. These maps highlight the importance of the three components of evidence-based practice (EBP). External Scientific Evidence, Clinical Expertise/Expert Opinion, and Client/Patient/Caregiver Perspectives.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews- Part of EBM Reviews
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)- Part of EBM Reviews
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) This link opens in a new windowCitations to controlled trials identified by the contributors of the Cochrane Collaboration.
- Evidence-Based Communication Assessment and Intervention (EBCAI)This journal aims to bring together professionals who work in clinical and educational practice as well as researchers from all disciplines to promote evidence-based practice (EBP) in serving individuals with communication impairments.
Search aids
Background Information
- LWW Health LibraryIncludes sections for Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech Language Hearing, Exercise Science, Exercise Science, Pharmacy, and Medical Education. To print pages and use self-assessment tools register an account with LWW Health Library
- AccessMedicineApproximately 40 e-books, including a clinical library (Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and more), Lange Educational Library, a USMLE self-assessment tool, 50+ clinical cases, and various study materials including flashcards, notes, and multiple-choice review questions.
- Books@OVIDIncludes full text, references, updates, and graphics from several respected texts in medicine, nursing, and pharmacy. Search (or browse) one textbook, browse by subject area, or choose "search all". Color diagrams, charts, and illustrations are available as thumbnails or full graphics.
- Sage Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods Online is a web-based research methods tool created to support researchers and students as they explore relevant content across the social and behavioural sciences, covering quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods.
- ClinicalKeyClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
- DynamedIncludes overviews and drug therapy recommendations for various medical conditions, drug information, and a drug interaction checker.
- Merck Manual of Diagnosis & TherapyIncludes diagnostic and therapeutic information in internal medicine, pediatrics, psychiatry, obstetrics, gynecology, dermatology, pharmacology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, rehabilitation, and a number of special subjects. Available online.
- MedlinePlus (Consumer Health)Freely-searchable consumer health information site linking to simple overviews, dictionaries, directories, organizations and news for ~750 topics.
- PEDroPEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 23,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- PhysiopediaThe free comprehensive online reference written by physiotherapists for physiotherapists.
- SpeechBITECurated speech pathology intervention studies to support evidence based practice
