Reference Librarian
Welcome
-
Audiology and Speech Sciences Research GuideMain Research Guide for Audiology and Speech Sciences with many more resources.
AUDI 562 Slides
-
AUDI 562 Slides: September 9, 2025You may preview and download lecture slides at this link.
AUDI 562 Handouts
-
Activity WorksheetStep by step process for developing a structured search
-
Search Strategy (OVID) Explained StrokeThis handout provides a line by line explanation of a structured search in Medline (Ovid). It demonstrates use of subject headings (MeSH), keywords, truncation, Boolean operators (AND, OR) to combine sets, and the application of Limits
-
PICO Search Plan Editable WorksheetPerson/Intervention/Comparison/Outcome
-
PESICO Search Plan WorksheetPerson/Environment/Stakeholders/Intervention/Comparison/Outcome
Searching Tutorials
-
CINAHL Guided ExerciseThis tutorial provides step by step instructions for each stage of a structured search. It's intended to be a "guide on the side" - follow along or build your own!
-
CINAHL TutorialsThese modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in CINAHL on the Ebsco platform. These techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ebsco platform and through other search engines.
-
EMBASE (Ovid) Video TutorialsThese modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in EMBASE on the Ovid platform. Many of these techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ovid platform and through other search engines.
-
Scales, Tests, and Measures TutorialsThis guide provides tips and techniques for finding tests, scales, and measures in CINAHL, Medline, and PsycINFO.
-
MEDLINE (Ovid) tutorialsThese modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in Medline on the Ovid platform. These techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ovid platform and through other search engines.
-
MEDLINE Guided ExerciseThis tutorial gives step by step instructions for each stage of a structured search. Use it as a "guide on the side" - follow along, or build your own!
-
NLM PubMed TutorialAn in depth instruction guide on using PubMed. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Background Information
-
LWW Health LibraryIncludes sections for Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Speech Language Hearing, Exercise Science, Exercise Science, Pharmacy, and Medical Education. To print pages and use self-assessment tools register an account with LWW Health Library
-
AccessMedicineApproximately 40 e-books, including a clinical library (Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and more), Lange Educational Library, a USMLE self-assessment tool, 50+ clinical cases, and various study materials including flashcards, notes, and multiple-choice review questions.
-
Books@OVIDIncludes full text, references, updates, and graphics from several respected texts in medicine, nursing, and pharmacy. Search (or browse) one textbook, browse by subject area, or choose "search all". Color diagrams, charts, and illustrations are available as thumbnails or full graphics.
-
Sage Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods Online is a web-based research methods tool created to support researchers and students as they explore relevant content across the social and behavioural sciences, covering quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods.
-
ClinicalKeyClinicalKey provides access to FirstConsult, top journals, best-selling medical and surgical books, thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
-
DynamedIncludes overviews and drug therapy recommendations for various medical conditions, drug information, and a drug interaction checker.
-
Merck Manual of Diagnosis & TherapyIncludes diagnostic and therapeutic information in internal medicine, pediatrics, psychiatry, obstetrics, gynecology, dermatology, pharmacology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, rehabilitation, and a number of special subjects. Available online.
-
MedlinePlus (Consumer Health)Freely-searchable consumer health information site linking to simple overviews, dictionaries, directories, organizations and news for ~750 topics.
-
PEDroPEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 23,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
-
PhysiopediaThe free comprehensive online reference written by physiotherapists for physiotherapists.
-
SpeechBITECurated speech pathology intervention studies to support evidence based practice
