About Primary Research
Primary research is often conducted by individuals or research firms, producing very targeted results according to your research needs. This includes focus groups, surveys, interviews and observations.
While it is not required to rely on existing data, it may be a good idea to read about articles and research on current consumer behavior research, marketing research methods and scales.
Psychology Resources for Consumer Insights
Psychology databases are a great way to be informed about topics such as choice behavior, decision making and consumer preference.
- Annual Review of PsychologyComprehensive articles on all aspects of psychology. Typing in "consumer behavior" will give you articles on consumer psychology.
- PsycInfo (includes full text from PsycArticles) This link opens in a new windowCovers psychology and the psychological aspects of various other disciplines. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations.
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowA web-based research methods tool created to support researchers and students as they explore relevant content across the social and behavioral sciences, covering quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods
Books on Consumer Behavior Research & Marketing Scales
Business Article Databases
- Business Source UltimatePremier source for business related research on consumer behavior. The link is set to keywords "primary research", "consumer behavior or buyer behavior".
- Warc : World Advertising Research Center This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection marketing articles, reports and case studies on advertising. For consumer behavior research, under Topics in the main tab, choose "Consumer Research & Insight"
- ABI/Inform CollectionABI/INFORM Collection comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. It includes journals and business periodicals, dissertations.
Keywords used: behavior of consumer
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFactiva provides access to a deep archive of news and business information, allowing users to conduct in-depth and up-to-date research on industries and companies.