Research Help
Browse Biomechanics Journals
Getting started
Injury biomechanics literature is found in several places. Three key databases to search are Medline, SAE Mobilus, and TRID. Select the tabs on the left for more details on searching these databases.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowPremier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
- SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new windowCovers research about air, land, sea and space mobility as well as injury biomechanics, accident reconstruction and occupant protection and safety.
- TRID This link opens in a new windowThe TRID Database contains almost half a million records of references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles and on-going research in the field of transportation.
- Other health and biomedical databasesMore databases available at UBC which cover health-related literature.
Additional Resources
- Compendex Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowPremier engineering database, covering the core literature of the engineering field, including related specialties and technologies.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest academic search engine providing free searching to a full range of scholarly literature (ie. peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports).
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- PubMed (1946 - present) This link opens in a new windowPubMed includes the Medline database and additional articles drawn from over 5,600 biomedical journals. It offers more focused searching on health topics than Summon, Web of Science or Google Scholar. For more complex searches, such as those done for a systematic review, using Ovid Medline is recommended.
- IRCOBI - International Research Council on Biomechanics of Injury - Conference Proceedings
- NHTSA - National Traffic Safety Administration (U.S. content)
The focus is on vehicle safety and driving behaviour. It includes Biomechanics and Trauma and Crash Injury research. Reports, images and video files can be found within this resource.
A Google site search is an effective way to search the NHTSA content. Enter your search terms into Google followed by site:nhtsa.gov
Anatomy TV
In addition to article databases, UBC has reference databases like Anatomy TV
Anatomy TV is a three-dimensional interactive anatomy resource that includes over 6500 models of human anatomy. These models focus on individual organs, regions of the body, or anatomical systems. The 3D images can be peeled away in layers and anatomical models can be rotated 360 degrees to demonstrate the interaction of nerves, muscles, ligaments, and bones. Built-in self-assessment quizzes are also included. Images and clips can be used in online courses.
Course textbook
Trauma Biomechanics: An Introduction to Injury Biomechanics by ISBN: 9783030116590Publication Date: 2019This well-established book on injury biomechanics has been extensively revised and expanded for this new edition. The book addresses a wide range of topics in injury biomechanics, including anatomy, injury classification, injury mechanisms, and injury criteria. Further, it provides essential information on regional injury reference values, or injury criteria, that are either currently in use or proposed by both US and European communities. Although the book is intended as an introduction for doctors and engineers who are newcomers to the field of injury biomechanics, sufficient references are provided for those who wish to conduct further research.
Related Guides
Research Skills for Engineering Students
- Research Skills For Engineering StudentsThis tutorial is a self-guided overview of engineering information sources and how to find, evaluate and cite.
The content in this guide is for both novice and expert learners building their information literacy skills.
The guide addresses the following information literacy framworks:
1. Authority is Constructed and Contextual
2. Information Creation as Process
3. Information has Value
4. Research as Inquiry
5. Scholarship as Conversation
6. Searching as Strategic Exploration
For more details on the frameworks see Companion Document to the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education: Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.