Refernce Librarian
University of British Columbia
2198 Health Sciences Mall
Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z3
Related Guides
- UBC Library Research CommonsSupport for UBC graduate students focusing on citation management software (RefWorks, Mendeley, Zotero) and thesis formatting. Workshops and drop-in help available.
Workshop resources
Library workshops will be held via Zoom.
[For more information on using Zoom see the Student Guide to Zoom]
Note: The recordings will be made available in Canvas a few hours after these classes:
1. "Orientation to Database Searching - Finding the Evidence"
Date: Thursday September 19, 2024 Time: 5.00 pm (PST)
2. "Managing Information, including citation management"
Date: Monday September 23, 2023 Time: 5.00 pm (PST)
[See Citation management at UBC for more information about the different tools]
- Orientation and Database Searching Sep 19 2024Slides we will be viewing during the presentation.
For the handouts: click on Handout tab
The Database Searching webinar recordings will be made available in Canvas under the RHSC 501 Announcements shortly after the presentation.
- Managing Information Sep 23 2024Slides for webinar on September 23
The Managing Information webinar recordings will be made available in Canvas under the RHSC 501 Announcements shortly after the presentation.
- Search Process WorksheetUse this to practice writing a PICO question and running a structured search on a topic of your choice
- Building a search strategy in Medline (OVID)An overview of the search process with step by step instructions for finding and using MeSH and keywords. Also view the tutorial Medline guide on the side at https://guides.library.ubc.ca/guided_search.
- Building a search strategy in CINAHL (Ebsco)An overview of the search process with step by step instructions for finding and using subject headings and keywords in CINAHL in the Ebsco interface. See also the guide on the side tutorial, CINAHL Guided Exercise
- Search Strategy (OVID) Explained StrokeThis handout provides a line by line explanation of a structured search in Medline (Ovid). It demonstrates use of subject headings (MeSH), keywords, truncation, Boolean operators (AND, OR) to combine sets, and the application of Limits
- Sources of Evidence6S Pyramid with appropriate UBC Library resources for each level.
- Guide on the Side: MEDLINE Guided ExerciseThis guided exercise shows how to develop a logical search using available techniques and tools and provides guidance for building your own search.
- CINAHL Guided ExerciseThis tutorial provides step by step instructions for each stage of a structured search. It's intended to be a "guide on the side" - follow along or build your own!
- CINAHL TutorialsThese modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in CINAHL on the Ebsco platform. These techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ebsco platform and through other search engines.
RHSC Online Library Services and Resources
Welcome to UBC Library and the resources and services that will support your programme!
The purpose of this guide is to help you become familiar with how to use the library. Check out the Using UBC Library tab first to get set up with our resources.
-
Using UBC Library tab
- Learn about services for Distance Education Students and how to register for home delivery
- Discover how to find books and journal articles at UBC Library
-
Rehabilitation Resources tab.
- Highlights materials, databases and tutorials relevant to the rehabilitation sciences
- Provides links to course materials and information
Using UBC Library
Connecting to the Library's resources remotely is via Open Athens.
Tip: Begin your search on the UBC Library website by logging in with the login button. This ensures access to all the resources available to you. For more information about how to connect see this guide: https://guides.library.ubc.ca/connect/general.
See the following links to learn how to use UBC Library's resources:
Use the Distance Education Students guide for information about how to
- Connect to the library's wealth of online resources
- Get your Library card
- Register for ordering books and other material to be delivered to your home for free
Getting started at UBC Library
- View the short videos at Searching the Library for a quick orientation.
Click on the Rehabilitation Resources tab for general rehabilitation resources
- Information specific to your course is listed by name under Course Help on the left. e.g. RHSC 501 Online or RHSC 500
For more resources, announcements and handouts for coursework click on the RHSC 501 Online tab under Course Help.
Research guides for Rehabilitation Sciences topics:
Course handouts
Core databases and Tutorials:
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowPremier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
- Medline Guided ExerciseThis tutorial gives step by step instructions for each stage of a structured search. Use it as a "guide on the side" - follow along, or build your own!
- Ovid Medline TutorialsThese short 2-3 minute tutorials demonstrate how to search Medline in the Ovid interface.
- PubMed (1946 - present) This link opens in a new windowPremier database containing over 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a focus on biomedicine. Freely available and includes MEDLINE. This link goes to the version with UBC elink.
- CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowKey database in nursing and allied health.
- CINAHL Guided ExerciseThis tutorial gives step by step instructions for each stage of a structured search. Use it as a "guide on the side" - follow along, or build your own!
- CINAHL TutorialsThese modules of 2-3 minutes each demonstrate the different search techniques and strategies for effective searching in CINAHL on the Ebsco platform. These techniques are transferable to other databases, both on the Ebsco platform and through other search engines.
- EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowInternational (but European-focused) biomedical database with strengths in drug-related and rehabilitation sciences subjects.
- Embase TutorialsThese short 2-3 minute tutorials demonstrate how to search Embase on the Ovid interface.