Skip to main content

Special Collections: Canadian History

Canadian History at RBSC

RBSC has a number of smaller collections which come together to form the overarching Canadian History Collection. Use the dropdown menu under "UBC Collections" in the sidenav, or the links below to get started.

Our Collections

Related Resources

If you want to continue your research beyond our collections, the links below will help guide you in searching the UBC Catalogue and other important databases and journals.

 

UBC Library Research Guides

History

  • This guide will help you locate books, articles, online databases, journals, primary sources, and theses concerning history. 

Asian Canadian Studies

  • This guide will help you locate books, articles, online databases, journals, primary sources, and theses concerning Asian Canadians, including literature, history, film, and more.

Canadian Studies

  • This guide will help you locate books, articles, online databases, journals, primary sources, and theses concerning Canada, including newspapers, current events, and statistics.

Slavic, Central, and East European Studies

  • This guide will help you locate books, articles, online databases, journals, primary sources, and theses concerning Slavic, Central, and Eastern Europe, including language resources, literature, history, films and images. 

Historical Photographs

  • This guide will help you learn how and where to access historical photographs, both in collections held at UBC and those at other institutions.

Related UBC Sites

The Chinese Canadian Experience in BC: 1850-1950

  • This website will give you an introduction to the Chinese Experience in British Columbia from the 1858 Fraser Valley gold rush to 1950. The history is illustrated by quotations from works by Chinese-Canadian author Wayson Choy. The website also provides links to relevant works in the Chung Collection at UBC Library and the Yip Family and Yip Sang Ltd fonds at City of Vancouver Archives.

Important Moments in Canadian History

  • Compiled by UBC professor Dr. Robert J. Belton, this website guides you through important moments in the history of Canada up to 2000.

UBC Department of Canadian Studies

UBC Department of History

UBC Open Collections

  • UBC Open Collections includes digital photographs, books, newspapers, maps, videos, theses, and much more. These collections are publicly accessible online and constantly growing to reflect research interests in the UBC community and beyond.