About This Collection
Born in Victoria, BC, Wallace Chung attended Victoria College, the University of British Columbia, and McGill University and was among the early Chinese Canadians to embark on a professional career. In 1953 he married Dr. Madeline Chung (née Huang). Dr. Wallace Chung specialized in vascular surgery and was the first Chinese-Canadian to head a department of surgery in Canada. When he retired from the University of British Columbia in 1991 he had served as Professor of Surgery and Head of the Department of Surgery at the UBC Hospital. Dr. Madeline Chung was born in Shanghai. China, and grew up in Hong Kong. She came to Canada in 1949 and specialized in obstetrics. Both have been very active in community service in Vancouver.
Dr. Wallace Chung assembled an extensive research collection of more than 25,000 items on the exploration of the Pacific Northwest, the Chinese experience in North America and British Columbia, and the Canadian Pacific Railway Company including its trans-Pacific and coastwise shipping lines. Dr. Chung is an expert collector and includes manuscript material and realia as well as the expected printed material in his collecting lexicon. A small portion of the collection is exhibited in the Chung Room in the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre.
The Wallace and Madeline Chung Collection is featured on its own website where researchers may browse and search for materials.
Image source: Drs. Wallace and Madeline Chung, UBC Library. Drs. Wallace and Madeline Chung. UBC Library "About Us": Archives by Date (December 23, 2010).
Featured Materials
- Passage of Dreams : The Chung Collection / written, directed and produced by Karin Lee"Passage of Dreams : The Chung Collection" is a lively and animated documentary featuring the stories of Dr. Wallace Chung and his childhood love of collecting Canadian Pacific artifacts. Dr. Chung's 25,000 piece collection tells the journey of early British Columbia history and the development of the Chinese community in Canada.
The Other Side of Gold Mountain by Call Number: FC3250.C5 W35 2010ISBN: 9781551951898Publication Date: 2010-06-01In June of 2010, the University of Alberta's Bruce Peel Special Collections Library mounted an exhibit of documents, photographs, artifacts, and ephemera which provided significant insight into Chinese pioneer life on the Canadian Prairies. Written by exh
Carving the Western Path by Call Number: HE215.Z7 B713 1998ISBN: 1895811627Publication Date: 1998-10-01A century of dealmaking and government misdeeds forms the backdrop of this entertaining account of sternwheelers, iron horses and mountain roads. Battling factions of rail builders crossed many a line in the sand as they carved up both the land and the spoils of industry. Did both federal and provincial politicians wittingly sabotage road construction programs to the benefit of the rail barons? Were Cornelius Van Horne, Major A.B. Rogers and Andrew McCulloch fully deserving of the accolades bestowed on them? Was railway man J.J. Hill a genius or an opportunist? R.G. Harvey has applied a keen mind and deft pen to uncover skulduggery in politics and critical routing errors by the early surveyors and engineers who "carved their western paths." In turn he has exposed new scars and wrinkles to add to historic portraits otherwise untainted.
The Train Doesn't Stop Here Any More by Call Number: TF302.C3 B76 1998ISBN: 1894073061Publication Date: 1998-05-01An illustrated history of railway stations in Canada- The North-west passage by land : being the narrative of an expedition from the Atlantic to the Pacific, undertaken with the view of exploring a route across the continent to British Columbia through British territory, by one of the northern passes in the byCall Number: F5504.2 .M66Publication Date: 1865
Colocating This Collection
Want to explore this collection but don't know where to start? We've created some links that can help you discover the material in this collection.
Chung Collection Website
This collection has its own website hosted by UBC Library. This site will give you an introduction to the main themes of the collection. You can also search the collection through this website.
UBC Library Catalogue
Walter B. Chung and Madeline H. Chung Collection
Browse the Chung collection in the library catalogue. The catalogue contains over 3000 items, including books, pamphlets, audio-visual material, and objects.
Subject Headings
Canadian Pacific Railway Company
Japanese--British Columbia--History
British Columbia--Discovery and exploration
Chinese Canadians--British Columbia
Northwest Coast of North America--Discovery and exploration
Call Numbers in the UBC Library Catalogue
F855: Chinese in North America
FC3811: History of the Pacific Northwest
FC3845: History of British Columbia
G246: European Exploration, Travel, and Expansion (International)
The Chung Collection in Open Collections
UBC Open Collections allows you to access archival material, photos, books, newspapers, maps, videos, theses, and more, all online! These collections consist of material which has been digitized or was originally made digitally. All this material is available online and is openly accessible to anyone on the web.
Much of the Chung Collection has been digitized and is available to be viewed online.