About This Collection
The Doukhobor collection at UBC Library was started in the 1950s when Professor Harry B. Hawthorn and others participated in the Doukhobor Research Committee. Later, in the early 1960s a UBC graduate student, Koozma Tarasoff, became interested in the Doukhobors. This resulted in the library becoming more involved in seeking out material for its collections.
Maria Horvath, then Senior Library Assistant in the Humanities Division, produced a series of three bibliographies in the early 1970s. Since 1974, Jack McIntosh, a UBC librarian and part time Slavic bibliographer, became involved and made a study trip to Moscow and St. Petersberg. The collection has grown steadily and is one of the largest in the world on this subject and includes books, pamphlets, journals, manuscripts, tapes, theses, photographs, and government publications.
Image source: Group shot of participants at Doukhobor conference,1951.UBC Archives Photograph Collection, Courtesy UBC Archives.
Archival Materials
- Doukhobor Research CollectionThe collection consists of four parts: (1) photocopied and original newsletters, pamphlets, publications, clippings and printed material in general; (2) manuscript collections and personal papers (most copied from original material held elsewhere); (3) microfilms; and, (4) photographs. All the material relates to the history and activities of Doukhobors throughout the world as well as in British Columbia and Saskatchewan.
- Jim Hamm Doukhobor Research CollectionThe Jim Hamm Doukhobor Research Collection consists of two VHS copies of the documentary film, The Spirit Wrestlers, and other materials relating to the production of the film such as Betacam SP videos (camera masters), VHS videos screening copies, 35mm slides, digital photos on CD, audio cassettes and transcripts of the interviews in hard copy and on CD. Jim Hamm is a documentarian, born in Abbotsford, BC, in 1949 . He obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree, majoring in history from Simon Fraser University in 1975.
- Salmo Doukhobor Cultural StudyThis collection consists of 13 recorded interviews with people of the Doukhobor community of Salmo, BC. The collection has 13 cassettes recorded ca. 1972. The interviewer is not known.
Colocating This Collection
Want to explore this collection but don't know where to start? We've created some links that can help you discover the material in this collection.
Bibliographies in Print
A Doukhobor bibliography, based on material available in the University of British Columbia Library / compiled by Maria Horvath Vancouver: UBC Press, 1968.
Maria Horvath's Doukhobor bibliography / revised and expanded by Jack McIntosh. Vancouver: UBC Press, 2002.
Bibliography of Doukhobor related pamphlets A six page pamphlet
Articles
Access to this article requires a UBC CWL login.
Featured place: Columbia River
This article was published by the UBC Library in 2013 about the history of the Columbia River area, where the Doukhobors established a community.
Subject Headings
Note that the subject headings feature the spelling variant "Dukhobor."
Call numbers
Use these call numbers to browse the UBC Library catalogue.
FC106 .D7 P666 to FC106 .D76 Z83
FC3850 .D6 B455 to FC3850 .E2 A15
Keyword Searching
Related Works
- Spirit wrestlers : centennial papers in honour of Canada's Doukhobor heritage byCall Number: MICROLOG 102-05820Publication Date: 1995This book marks the centenary of Doukhobor settlement in Canada with contributions from 26 authors that offer new & important insights into the Doukhobor experience, past & present, from various perspectives.
Negotiating Buck Naked by Call Number: FC3850.D76 C72 2006ISBN: 0774812583Publication Date: 2006Negotiating Buck Naked examines the accord closely. Why did the violence end? How was the accord reached? What factors enabled it to succeed when numerous other interventions had failed? How did it change the patterns of conflict between the factions? To answer these questions, Cran develops a theoretical framework for understanding the process of dispute resolution, emphasizing that competing discourses are juxtaposed and that it is these different but equally valid narratives that must be negotiated. Using this approach, Cran extracts from the Doukhobor conflict valuable lessons for understanding the nature of both terrorism and hegemonic practices, and traces how we view conflict and intervention from a Western perspective.- Negotiated memory : Doukhobor autobiographical discourse byCall Number: F1035.D76Publication Date: c2004
- Sergej Tolstoy and the Doukhobors : a journey to Canada : diary and correspondence byCall Number: PG3385 .T852 1998Publication Date: c1998
- Christian martyrdom in Russia [microform] : persecution of the Doukhobors / edited by Vladimir Tchertkoff ; containing a concluding chapter and letter by Leo TolstoyCall Number: CIHM 26934Publication Date: 1900
- Terror in the name of God : the story of the Sons of Freedom Doukhobors byCall Number: FC106.D7 H647 1964aPublication Date: [1964]
