Skip to main content

Primary Sources

This guide to primary sources focuses on collections owned or subscribed to by UBC Library. Freely available resources are also described if they are significant collections or have a Canadian focus.

The following are special collections digitized at UBC Library or about the institution of UBC. 

  • Open Collections - UBC Library’s portal for digital content, housing over 200,000 digital objects including photographs,maps, videos, books, audio content, newspapers, letters and more.
  • Alice 100 Collection - The collection includes more than 200 editions of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland accompanied by Through the Looking Glass and displays the work of more than 80 illustrators. 
  • Historical Maps Collection - This guide has been developed to assist students and researchers in searching for resources relating to historical maps and atlases in the UBC Library collection.
  • Historical Photographs -This guide will introduce you to resources for finding and using historical photographs both within UBC collections and externally.
  • Special Collections: Canadian History - RBSC has a number of smaller collections which come together to form the overarching Canadian History Collection.
  • Special Collections: Canadian Literature - UBC's Rare Books and Special Collections Library collects rare and historically significant Canadian literature which is available for you to view and read.
  • Special Collections: English Literature - Rare Books and Special Collections features a number of collections significant to the history, development, and art of English language and literature.

University Publications and Documents

Student and Alumni Publications

UBC historical documents

  • Includes early documentation about the Point Grey campus and its development.