Drawing from the Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chigaco, this database includes papers of early pioneers and explorers; the original manuscript journal and papers of James Audubon; the evolution of Western towns and the growth of railway and road networks through prospectuses, maps and railroad company records; emigrants guides; manuscript travel journals; store catalogues; illustrations; maps and more.
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents which cover subjects ranging from the Spanish civil war to the American Indian Movement and the protestant missionary community in China to the Persian gulf war.
Includes official committee reports, orders of the day, petitions and papers presented, records of land sales, correspondence, budgetary estimates, proclamations, maps, voters lists by district, and departmental annual reports.
Black Thought and Culture is an electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major black leaders in North America. Works by teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures form the corpus.
Extending back to the 1500s, the collection will show researchers the various shapes and formats of the diary as it evolved, including the travel diary, offering detailed accounts of journeys and descriptions of places; the daily personal diary, in which women reflected more broadly on aspects of their lives; letter diaries, wherein a daily dated letter to a recipient served simultaneously as a diary entry; and other forms.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980 is based on substantial collections of manuscript materials held at the library of the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library in London, supplemented by additional sources from Cambridge University Library, the Church Missionary Society Archive, the Council for World Missions Library, Duke University, the National Archives at Kew, the Alexander Turnbull Library at the National Library of New Zealand and Yale Divinity Library.
Restricted-circulation copies of documents generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices. They range from in extent from brief telegrams and one-page letters to lengthy memoranda and the complete texts of treaties.
Consists of three cross-searchable modules: Personal experiences, Propaganda and recruitment, and Visual perspectives and narratives. Includes documents ranging from diaries and letters to postcards and photographs and propaganda and recruiting posters along with a digitized artifacts collection which allows the user to manipulate the angle at which such 'everyday' objects as gas masks, playing cards and cigarette cases can be viewed.
This collection offers the complete British Foreign Office Files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan from 1949-1980. These files are particularly important because Britain was one of the first countries to recognise Communist China.
Access open only to UBC students, faculty, staff and on-site Library users (other restrictions may apply)Permitted Uses Research or Private Study? Yes Linking? Yes Learning Management System? Yes Printed Course Packs? No.
Taking the phenomenon of the Grand Tour as a starting point, this resource explores the relationship between Britain and Europe between c1550 and c1850, exploring the British response to travel on the Continent for pleasure, business and diplomacy.
Drawing upon the wonderfully rich and diverse manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland this resource will be of great value to all those teaching or researching into the History of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.
Designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007.
Access open only to UBC students, faculty, staff and on-site Library users (other restrictions may apply)Permitted Uses Research or Private Study? Yes Linking? Yes Learning Management System? Yes Printed Course Packs? Yes.
This is an essential source for the study of the Atlantic World and Early Colonial Period. It contains the Ferrar Papers (covering 1590-1790) which are in Magdalene College, Cambridge, as well as transcripts of other documents that throw light on the Virginia Company of London.
Comprises two distinct elements: 1) A Finding Aid to Women's Studies Resources in The National Archives at Kew 2) Original Documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire and Colonial Territories.