Skip to main content

Chinese History: Home

Introduction

This subject guide lists selected digital resources for Chinese history studies.For general research resources regarding Chinese studies, please refer to Chinese Studies Resources

Related Guides

  • Leo K. Shin, UBC
    A site created by Professor Leo K. Shin (a cultural historian of later imperial China) at UBC, providing history and China resources as well as information about Prof. Shin's research and teaching.
  • Chinese History, IGCS (Internet Guide for Chinese Studies)
    A comprehensive bibliographical list of internet resources on Chinese history studies edited by Hanno E. Lecher (Institute of Chinese Studies, Heidelberg University).
  • UCSD Modern Chinese History
    This research site includes an array of materials on modern Chinese history, ranging from bibliography, key sources for research to book reviews and critical essays produced by PhD students in the Modern Chinese History program at University of California, San Diego.
  • Classical Historiography for Chinese History / 中国经典文献工具书录
    Created by Benjamin A. Elman (East Asian Studies Department, Princeton University), this site provides an abundance of resources on Chinese classical historiography.
  • The Dynasties of China - Bibliography
    A bibliography of books on Chinese history of different dynasties, edited by Marilyn Shea (Department of Psychology, University of Maine at Farmington).
  • Historical photographs
    An introduction to resources for finding and using historical photographs both within UBC collections and externally
  • China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
    This collection provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.

Chinese Language Librarian

The Chinese Language Librarian Jing Liu is away on sabbatical leave until Dec. 31, 2016.

Please direct all your Chinese studies questions to

Crystal Yincrystal.yin@ubc.ca