Skip to main content

Special Collections: Canadian Literature

Beyond Our Collections

Canadian Publisher's Records at Simon Fraser University

  • Describes over 1400 archival collections beginning before 1995 which relate to the history of secular English-language book publishing in Canada. It includes records of publishing companies, authors, editors and organizations.

BC's Literary Worlds Online

  • The Tyee's rough guide to digital resources for writers (and readers). 

Literature at Library and Archives Canada

  • Library and Archives Canada holds a vast collection of Canadian literature, including translations of these works into other languages, as well as a significant collection of Canadian children's literature. These holdings also include manuscripts, galley proofs, letters, audio and video recordings, book illustrations, photographs, journals, and notebooks. The collections also cover small literary presses, private presses, and the book arts, along with books and periodicals about Canadian literature and history.

CBC Digital Archives - Literature

CBC Digital Archives - Poetry

  • The CBC Digital Archives contain video recordings of interviews conducted with Canadian authors and poets. 

Canadian Poetry Audio Archives

  • Library and Archives Canada has digitized a sampling of contemporary recordings of Canada's most acclaimed poets, reading from their works. 

Canadian Poetry Online

  • This online resource is a collection of poetry from published contemporary and 19th century Canadian poets. 

Canadian Poetry Archive

  • This archive features selected poems from over 100 early English- and French-language Canadian poets.

Associations & Conferences

Books

Journals

Featured Journals

Canadian Literature: Quarterly of Criticism and Review

The mission of this publication from the University of British Columbia, Vancouver, is "to foster a wider academic interest in the Canadian literary field." The journal features 15- to 20-page scholarly essays. Each issue also contains original poetry and book reviews. Some articles and reviews are written in French. (Description from Ulrichsweb)

Studies in Canadian Literature

SCL is a general scholarly periodical devoted to French and English Canadian literature. In addition to the 11 essays the editors accept sometimes lengthy rebuttals and expansions. Most of the pieces are in English but French is also used. (Description from Ulrichsweb)

Canadian Drama

Promotes awareness of Canadian dramatists and their work.

Canadian Poetry

Devoted to the study of poetry from all periods and regions in Canada.


Browse all English Literature journals at UBC Library

Databases