Xwi7xwa Library Guide
Featured Resources
A Stó:lō-Coast Salish historical atlas by Call Number: AF C37 S76 2001The 86 full-colour maps, most of them double-page spreads, are enhanced by archival photographs and explanatory text. Covering an astonishing range of themes, the atlas makes a significant contribution to cross-cultural understanding and the advancement of knowledge.
- Maps and Surveys (UBCIC)
From from the book Stolen Lands, Broken Promises, this chapter provides information on various types of maps and map-related resources available in locations throughout BC [PDF]. - Musqueam Place Names Web Mapping Portal
Find information on Musqueam Place Names, hear audio of the hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓ language, and view historical photographs. The map is a collaboration between the Language and Culture Department and Treaty, Lands and Resources Department at Musqueam, and Musqueam community contributors.
Map Resources
- Musqueam Declaration (June 10th, 1976)1976, Musqueam issued a Declaration that Musqueam lands, waters and resources were never given up, extinguished or signed away. The declaration includes a map of the lands and waters claimed by Musqueam with place names in English and hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓.
- Musqueam Statement of Intent Area MapFirst Nations are required to submit Statements of Intent maps to the BC Treaty Commission when negotiating treaties. These maps show approximate boundaries of traditional territories.
- BC Archives' Maps CollectionExtensive cartographic collection focusing on BC history.
- Borden Collection Maps (UBC)Charles Edward Borden was an archaeologist and UBC professor who worked extensively in Musqueam territory, especially in c̓əsnaʔəm.
- British Columbia Reserve Name Translation (BC STATS)This chart translates Statistics Canada Reserves into British Columbia Administrative Regions.
- Historical Maps of British Columbia (Historical Map Society of BC)Database of all historical maps covering the area of what is now British Columbia up to joining Confederation in 1871.
- Regional District maps (BC STATS)Map set including Indian Reserves and Band Names - Administrative Boundaries (published 2014).
- Royal Commission (1913-1916) Maps - Our Homes are Bleeding (UBCIC)Department of Indian Affairs agency maps from the McKenna McBride Commission as part of the Our Homes are Bleeding digital collection.
- Treaty Negotiations in British Columbia (INAC)Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada's map of BC First Nations groups undergoing treaty negotiations as of June 2011.
- Vancouver's Secret Waterways (UBC)Shows Vancouver’s vanished streams and waterways on Google Earth, PDF form and other digital formats, including the shoreline of Vancouver as it appeared before the mass arrival of settlers.
Finding Maps at UBC
The UBC Library collection includes maps, atlases, and gazetteers, focused primarily on Vancouver, the Lower Mainland, and British Columbia. X̱wi7x̱wa Library holds materials related to Indigenous maps and mapping.
For general information on finding maps at UBC, see the Maps & Atlases research guide.
Keyword Searches
Use the UBC Library Catalogue Advanced Search to narrow material type to maps and use a keyword search:
Try the following keywords:
|
|
|
Helpful Hints for Keyword Searches
- Use quotation marks to search for a phrase.
Example: "First Nations" - Use a question mark to truncate a term to search for words with the same stem.
Example: Aborig? retrieves Aboriginal, Aboriginals, Aboriginality, etc.
The UBC Library collection includes maps, atlases, and gazetteers, focused primarily on Vancouver, the Lower Mainland, and British Columbia. Xwi7xwa Library holds materials related to Indigenous maps and mapping.
For general information on finding maps at UBC, check out the Maps & Atlases research guide.
Subject Headings
Subject headings are a tool designed to help researchers find similar materials. These are only some examples of the many subject headings that Xwi7xwa Library uses. Spend a few minutes exploring them when you find a book in the catalogue that supports your research.
Browse Catalogue > Subject begins with: