Skip to main content

Maps & Atlases: Home

Information and resources about the UBC map collection.

Introduction to the UBC Library Map Collection

This is a guide to the University of British Columbia Library Map Collection, including information on what kinds of maps and atlases are in the collection and where to find them, how to find online maps, and how to find other sources of information related to maps.

What is in the UBC Library map collection?

The UBC Library Map Collection is an extensive collection that includes print maps, atlases, and online resources.

Where is the collection?

The collection is located on Level 2 of Walter C. Koerner Library. This is where you will find most of the print maps and atlases, including oversize atlases.

There are additional maps in storage, which can be accessed upon request. To request an item from storage, email the Humanities and Social Sciences Division, or ask in person at the Research Desk on Level 2 of Koerner Library. Please note that requests may take several days to fill.

UBC Library also has a number of antique and rare maps located in Rare Books and Special Collections.

Who can use the collection?

The map collection in Koerner Library may be browsed by UBC students, staff, faculty, and members of the public. Materials are for library use only.

Items in storage may be requested by members of the public as well as UBC students, faculty, and staff.

Humanities & Social Sciences Division

HSSD Koerner

Phone: 604-822-2725
Website / Blog Page

Data/GIS Lab

The UBC Data/GIS Lab is located in Room 218A, on Level 2 of Koerner Library. The computers in the lab are equipped with ArcGIS and statistical software. A large-format scanner is also available. For assistance, please ask at the Research Desk on level 2.


This research guide was created by Chloe Riley, with assistance and guidance from Kelly Schultz.