Top picks
- International Business TimesAn online global business newspaper that provides news, analysis and editorial commentary on business and business-related stories.
- JSTOR DailyJSTOR Daily stories provide background—historical, scientific, literary, political, and otherwise—for understanding today’s often-confusing world. Articles are published based on fact and careful research.
- MarketWatchA subsidiary of Dow Jones & Company, MarketWatch is a a financial information website that provides business news, analysis, and stock market data.
- Pew ResearchProvides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends shaping the United States and the world.
Tips to keep up with current news and events
Keeping up with news and current events can be time consuming and sometimes even overwhelming. As a business librarian, it is important for us to keep on top of things and I would like to share with you my top 3 hacks to make news reading more efficient.
1. Newsletters can help you save time and can be very easy to go through! These are the email newsletters that personally go into my inbox almost everyday.
2. Follow your favorite news outlet on Social Media. For example on Twitter, you will be able to understand the context of the news in 140 characters or less. Surveys have shown that Facebook is also popular in keeping up with current events.
3. News Podcasts can be a great way to amp up your listening library! I usually listen to podcasts while I am on my commute home from work. The two news podcasts that I find relatable and easy to listen are:
- Market FoolerySource for top business and investing stories.
- Marketplace with Kai RyssdalA mixture of stories, conversations, newsworthy numbers delivered by Kai Ryssdal.
Have tips to share? Send me an email at kimberly.fama@ubc.ca
Searching Article Databases
Articles are specific in scope and can also provide information on current trends and issues. Article databases listed here are available through the library and allow you to search hundreds of journals, magazines or newspapers for information on a variety of topics.
Learn the basics of searching for articles in business databases in our short video below, or refer to our Research Tips guide for for examples of how to search article databases effectively, like using single words or short phrases.
(Sample video content from Business Source Ultimate database used by permission of EBSCO Publishing.)
Business Article Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowABI/INFORM Collection is a comprehensive business database, which contains journals, business periodicals, dissertations, and country-and industry-focused reports.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowBusiness articles, market research reports, company SWOT analyses.
- Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new windowCanadian journals and magazines.
- Emerald Publishing This link opens in a new windowArticles on management strategy, leadership, marketing, human resource management.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowGlobal business and industry news service. Also find company profiles, including downloadable financials (5 yrs) and stock quotes (2 yrs).
Technavio industry reports can be found by typing: rst=technv AND your industry keyword - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowA simple way to search selected scholarly literature, with links for UBC users to fulltext.
- Nexis UniArticles and full text news, government, legal, finance and business information services.
- Warc : World Advertising Research Center This link opens in a new windowArticles from leading advertising journals and unpublished papers, on communications, marketing methods, consumers.