Skip to main content

Art History & Visual Art

This guide will help you find art related information including articles, books, images, and more.

Key Image Databases

     Image result for oxford art online     Image result for archivision  

Streaming Video & DVDs

Kanopy - Wikipedia     The Criterion Collection - Wikipedia     NFB/education - National Film Board of Canada

Other Databases

In addition to the "Image Databases" that UBC Library subscribes to, there are many other databases that index and/or provide access to images.  For more databases visit the Indexes & Databases page and search for "images." A few examples are provided below:

Open Source Resources

How to Cite Images

You should identify the source of any images you use in a paper or presentation, just as you would cite the authors of any written works you have quoted. This means providing specific information about the site where you found the image.

For any images found using a "Google Images" search, remember that Google is not the original source of the images - Google is the site that did the searching for you.You want to provide the specific address of the website where the image is originally located, not the Google results page.

In-Text Citations and Captions

Check with your professor to see if they have specific preferences for formatting in-text citations. In general, label each image with "Figure" or "Fig." followed by a number (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, etc.) and then provide as much of the following information as possible. When you discuss the image in the text of your paper, write "(see Fig. 1)" when you refer to the work.

For all images:

Artist’s name [first name then last name], title [italicized], date. Medium and support, measurements.

Example: Guido Reni, Joseph and Potiphar's Wife, c. 1630. Oil on canvas, 128.9 x 170 cm.

For an image of a museum object:

Artist’s name [first name then last name], title [italicized], date. Medium and support, measurements, repository, and city.

Example: Elizabeth Peyton, Princess Kurt, 1995. Oil on linen, 14 x 11.75 in., Walker Art Center, Minneapolis.

For an image from an online source:

Artist’s name [first name then last name], title [italicized], date. Medium and support, measurements. Website or database [if applicable] (access date) [if applicable].

Example: Glenn Ligon, Warm Broad Glow, 2005. Neon and paint, 24 x 190 in. http://www.belkin.ubc.ca/past/GlennLigonSomeChanges/ (Accessed April 22, 2009).


MLA

Consult the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing for more detailed information.

For images from a book, journal or other print publication:

Note 1. Guido Reni, Bacchus and Ariadne, c. 1619-20, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Captured Emotions: Baroque Painting in Bologna, 1575-1725, edited by Andreas Henning and Scott Schaefer (Los Angeles: J. Paul Getty Museum, 2008) 61.
Bibliography Reni, Guido. Bacchus and Ariadne. c. 1619-20. Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Captured Emotions: Baroque Painting in Bologna, 1575-1725. Edited by Andreas Henning and Scott Schaefer. Los Angeles: J. Paul Getty Museum, 2008. 61.

For images from a website:

Note 1. Paul Mannix, Honey Island Swamp, Louisiana, USA, 2007, 22 April 2009 <http://www.flickr.com/photos/paulmannix/1526620540/>.
Bibliography Mannix, Paul. Honey Island Swamp, Louisiana, USA. 2007. Accessed 22 April 2009. 
<http://www.flickr.com/photos/paulmannix/1526620540/>.

For images from a database:

Note 1. Bob Adelman, USA. 1965. Portrait of Martin Luther King, 1965. 22 Apr. 2009 <http://www.artstor.org>.
Bibliography

Adelman, Bob. USA. 1965. Portrait of Martin Luther King. 1965. ARTstor. 22 Apr. 2009 <http://www.artstor.org>.


Chicago/Turabian

Consult A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses and Dissertations for more detailed information.

For images from a book, journal or other print publication:

Note 1. Guido Reni, Bacchus and Ariadne, c. 1619-20, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Captured Emotions: Baroque Painting in Bologna, 1575-1725, edited by Andreas Henning and Scott Schaefer (Los Angeles: J. Paul Getty Museum, 2008) 61. 
Bibliography Reni, Guido. Bacchus and Ariadne. c. 1619-20. Los Angeles County Museum of Art. Captured Emotions: Baroque Painting in Bologna, 1575-1725. Edited by Andreas Henning and Scott Schaefer. Los Angeles: J. Paul Getty Museum, 2008. 61.

For images from a website:

Note 1. Paul Mannix, Honey Island Swamp, Louisiana, USA, 2007,  22 April 2009 <http://www.flickr.com/photos/paulmannix/1526620540/>.
Bibliography Mannix, Paul. Honey Island Swamp, Louisiana, USA. 2007.  Accessed 22 April 2009. <http://www.flickr.com/photos/paulmannix/1526620540/>.

For images from a database:

Note 1. Bob Adelman, 1965. USA. 1965. Portrait of Martin Luther King. [database on-line] (ARTStor, accessed 22 April 2009); available http://www.artstor.org, image ID NYC21672.jpg.
Bibliography

Adelman, Bob,1965. USA. 1965. Portrait of Martin Luther King.  Database on-line. ARTstor. http://www.artstor.org. Accessed 22 April 2009.


APA

Consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association and the APA Style Guide to Electronic References for more detailed information.

For images from a book, journal or other print publication:

Bibliography Reni, Guido (Artist). ( c. 1619-20). Bacchus and Ariadne [Painting]. Losa Angeles; Los Angeles County Museum of Art. From Henning, A. & Schaefer, S. (2008) Captured Emotions: Baroque Painting in Bologna, 1575-1725. edited by Andreas Henning and Scott Schaefer Los Angeles: J. Paul Getty Museum, 2008) 61.

For images from a website:

Bibliography Mannix, Paul. (Photographer). (2007). Honey Island Swamp, Louisiana, USA [Photograph].  Retrieved April 22, 2009, from http://www.flickr.com/photos/paulmannix/1526620540. 

For images from a database:

Bibliography

Adelman, Bob. (Photographer).  (1965). USA. 1965. Portrait of Martin Luther King [Image of photograph].  ARTstor.Retrieved April 22, 2009, from http://www.artstor.org.

 

Need Help?

For help with images: