Related Guides
X̱wi7x̱wa Library Guide
What is a Primary Source?
The definition of a primary source depends upon the discipline and on how one is using the source.
Usually, a primary source is a direct, first-hand account of an event. It is usually something that was created at the time of an event, or shortly thereafter. Examples include:
- Diaries
- Letters
- Speeches
- Interviews
- Statistics
- Photographs
- Art
- Newspapers
- Maps
- Video and audio recordings
- First-hand narratives or stories
In contrast, a secondary source would be something that interprets, analyses, or remarks upon a primary source. Examples include:
- Journal articles
- Essays
- Theses and dissertations
- Textbooks
- Biographies
- Stories or films produced about an historical event
Finding Primary Sources at UBC
UBC's Library, Archives, and Rare Books & Special Collections (RBSC) are each separate institutions. RBSC Archives holds archival materials collected by UBC, while the UBC Archives holds material created by UBC departments and professors. You will have to search each institution separately to find all the primary source materials held at UBC.
UBC Library
In the UBC Library Catalogue, try combining your topic keywords with one of these terms.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
For Example: "Residential schools" AND Autobiograph?
Search Tip: Use quotation marks to search for a phrase (e.g. "First Nations"). Use a question mark to truncate a term to search for words with the same stem (e.g. Biograph? retrieves Biography, Biographies, Biographical, etc.).
UBC Rare Books & Special Collections (RBSC)
RBSC has compiled a list of their materials related to Indigenous peoples: Indigenous Peoples Histories and Archives. This is an ongoing project and new materials will be added frequently. This list should be used in combination with the RBSC database for access to all relevant archival material. When searching the Rare Books & Special Collections database please note that the RBSC search does not use phrase (e.g. "residential school") or truncated (e.g. residential school?) searching. Try a simple keyword search (e.g. Residential school).
Contemporary Sources
- Húy̓atHeiltsuk memories, language, and oral traditions related to the Húy̓at cultural landscape.
- National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR)Records of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission as well as government and church records related to the Indian Residential School System in Canada.
- National Film Board of CanadaSearch keyword: Indigenous
Explore by subject: Indigenous Peoples - North American Indian Thought and CultureOver 119,000 pages of text and images, including biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories of indigenous peoples from all over North America.
- Our Homes are Bleeding (Union of BC Indian Chiefs)Includes the records of the McKenna McBride Royal Commission (1913-1916) - transcripts of testimonies given to the Commission, photographs and maps. Additional historical records, including maps, documents, newspaper articles, photographs, audio and video clips, show the continual assertion of aboriginal title and rights.
- Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) DatabaseProvides enhanced access to over 600 RCAP documents, including transcripts of more than 175 days of public hearings, consultations and roundtables; research studies by academics and community experts; and submissions by non-governmental organizations.
- Native American Veteran and Canadian Aboriginal Veteran ListYann Castelnot, an amateur historian from France, compiled one of the largest databases of Indigenous soldiers (18,830 are Canada born).
- Verna J. Kirkness SpeechesComprehensive sample of Verna Kirkness' speeches dating from 1973 to 2012.
Government Records
- Legislative Assembly of British ColumbiaBC Hansards (transcripts of Parliamentary Debates) can be searched here. In the search box, search keywords (e.g. "Idle no more" or "Truth and Reconciliation Commission") to find instances when these concepts were discussed in the Legislative Assembly of BC.
- Canadian Parliamentary Historical ResourcesCentralized, open access to historical debates (Hansards) and journals of the Canadian Senate and House of Commons, in both official languages. Portal includes official reports (Senate from 1871; House of Commons from 1880) and reconstituted debates drawn from newspaper reports of the day, which predate official reporting.
- Library and Archives Canada (LAC)LAC's Vancouver office holds archival records created by Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada and its predecessor departments in British Columbia and Yukon.
- Guide to Archives Search (University of Alberta)Guide to using the online research tool of Library and Archives Canada, with special reference to Record Group 10 and Record Group 15.
- Canada. Dept. of Indian Affairs. Archival Records, RG-10The Record Group 10 collection at UBC Library comprises more than 500 reels of archival records.
RG-10 includes: Deputy superitendent letterbooks, 1879-1924; Black series registers and indexes to registers, 1881-1923; Field office correspondence and miscellaneous, ca. 1876-1936; Records relating to the Indian peoples of British Columbia; School files, records relating to B.C., 1879-1953; Central registry files, 1868-1970. - RG-10 Finding AidPrint copy of RG-10 finding aids at UBC Library, which "provides reel numbers, titles, and file numbers" for RG-10 content from all regions of Canada.
- BC School Files (1879-1953) [microform]RG-10 finding aid for BC School Files.
- Black Series (1872-1959) [microform]RG-10 finding aid for BC materials.
Historical Sources
- Indigenous Services Canada: Publications of Historical InterestIndian Affairs Annual Reports from 1864-1990, Statement of the Government of Canada on Indian Policy (The White Paper, 1969), A Survey of the Contemporary Indians of Canada, 1966 & 1967, and nineteenth-century historical legislation.
- American Indian and Alaskan Native Documents in the Congressional Serial Set: 1817-1899This collection of documents pertains to the history of American Indians and Alaskan Natives during the period 1817-1899.
- American Journeys: Eyewitness Accounts of Early American ExplorationMore than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American 'exploration', including First Peoples, missionaries, traders, settlers and explorers in book, manuscripts, and travel narrative formats (Library and Archives of the Wisconsin Historical Society)
- Early Canadiana OnlineBooks and pamphlets published in Canada before 1920, and government publications to 1900. Topics covered include Native studies, history of the Hudson's Bay Company, women's history, English-Canadian literature, history of French Canada, colonial government journals and the 'Jesuit relations'.
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment(1534-1850)
Personal accounts and perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, Native peoples, and officials, both men and women. - Index of Native American Electronic Text Resources on the InternetLinks to digital collections in textual, photographic and audio formats, including maps, music, genealogy, history, books and journal articles, speeches and interviews, contemporary writing, and newspaper articles. Not all of the materials indexed come from an Aboriginal perspective, but many do.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries(Colonial times to 1950)
Approximately 150,000 pages of letters and diaries as well as previously unpublished manuscripts including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings.
Oral Narratives
In the UBC Library Catalogue, use the terms "oral narratives" or "oral history" with your search (e.g.: "tlingit oral history").
The following are examples of online oral history projects – you will find many more online or in the UBC Catalogue.
- Getting Started in Oral Traditions ResearchA guide to oral traditions research for adults and students in the Northwest Territories by Elisa Hart.
- Omushgekowak Oral History ProjectA sampling of the stories of the Omushgekowak or "Swampy Cree" people of the Hudson and James Bay Lowlands of northern Manitoba and Ontario. Recorded in English and Cree by Louis Bird, Aboriginal scholar and storyteller. Part of the University of Winnipeg's Centre for Rupert's Land Studies.
- Teit-Boas Digitization ProjectNle'kempx legends, folklore, myths and traditions recorded by James Teit.
- Oral Histories - Copyright IssuesOral History Society, United Kingdom. The legalities and ethics of obtaining, transcribing and using oral histories.
Citing Elders & Knowledge Keepers
Introduction
The official MLA and APA citation style guides do not have guidelines for citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers.
NorQuest College has developed the following templates for citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers (CC BY-NC 4.0) in the spirit of wahkôhtowin and reconciliation, and we thank them for sharing their template.
For information on the development of these templates and how to use them in practice, please see:
Lorisia MacLeod. "More Than Personal Communication: Templates for Citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers." KULA: Knowledge Creation, Dissemination, and Preservation Studies 5, no. 1 (2021). https://doi.org/10.18357/kula.135
APA Style
Unlike other personal communications, Elders and Knowledge Keepers should be cited in-text and in the References list.
In-text citation:
The in-text citation should follow APA guidelines for formatting in-text citations for paraphrasing and direct quotes. Include the Elder or Knowledge Keeper's last name and the year of communication. For example:
Delores Cardinal described the nature of the... (2004).
OR
The nature of the place was... (Cardinal, 2004).
Corresponding References list entry format:
Last name, First initial., Nation/Community. Treaty Territory if applicable. Where they live if applicable. Topic/subject of communication if applicable. personal communication. Month Date, Year.
For example: Cardinal, D., Goodfish Lake Cree Nation. Treaty 6. Lives in Edmonton. Oral teaching. personal communication. April 4, 2004.
MLA Style
Unlike most other personal communications, Elders and Knowledge Keepers should be cited in-text and in the Works Cited list.
In-text:
The in-text citation should follow MLA guidelines for formatting in-text citations for paraphrasing and direct quotes. Include the Elder or Knowledge Keeper's last name. For example:
Delores Cardinal described the nature of the...
OR
The nature of the place was... (Cardinal).
Corresponding Works Cited list entry:
Last name, First name., Nation/Community. Treaty Territory if applicable. City/Community they live in if applicable. Topic/subject of communication if applicable. Date Month Year.
For Example: Cardinal, Delores., Goodfish Lake Cree Nation. Treaty 6. Lives in Edmonton. Oral teaching. 4 April 2004.
Note: If you would like to approach an Elder or Knowledge Keeper for teachings, remember to follow protocol or if you are unsure what their protocol is, please ask them ahead of time.
Chicago Manual of Style
Work is underway to develop guidelines for citing Elders and Knowledge Keepers with Chicago Manual of Style. Please check back for updates.