Find Urban Design Books
Search Summon and the Library Catalogue to find ebooks and print books. The core urban design collection is located in the Music, Art & Architecture Library, however, other UBC Library branches will also be of interest.
Subject Headings
In addition to keyword searching, books on this subject can be found in the UBC Library catalogue using subject headings such as:
Ebooks & Ebook Collections
In addition to ebooks found in the Library catalogue, many ebook collections allow you to search their full text. Useful ebook collections for urban design are:
- Elsevier ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text electronic journals covering the physical sciences, applied sciences, life sciences, social sciences, business & economics. Also includes reference works, book series, and handbooks.
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowFull-text online access to journals & ebooks published by Springer, Nature, and Palgrave.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowAccess to a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks from Taylor & Francis. Imprints include Routledge, CRC Press and Garland Science.
- National Academies Press (NAP) This link opens in a new window4000+ free ebooks on science, engineering, and health.
- IIED (International Institute for Environment & Development) PublicationsIIED is one of the world’s most influential international development and environment policy research organisations. Many of their publications offer free pdfs to dowload.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Explorations in Urban Design: an Urban Design Research PrimerCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Urban Design Management: A Guide to Good PracticeCall Number: HT166 .U7126 2009Publication Date: 2009
Books from Other Libraries
If UBC Library doesn't have the book you need, try ordering it through our Interlibrary Loan Service.
Visiting another university library? Reciprocal Borrowing agreements may allow you to sign out books at that library.
These databases will expand your search beyond UBC Library:
- Outlook Online This link opens in a new windowCatalogue of the holdings of British Columbia's public, college, and institute libraries.