Aguzzi-Barbagli Collection (Works that represent the core bibliography of Renaissance humanism)
This collection contains works that represent the core bibliography of Renaissance humanism.
To browse works in this collection, search the UBC Library catalogue for "Aguzzi-Barbagli collection".
Alice in Wonderland ("Alice 100")
Rare Books and Special Collections contains material related to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There, and other works by and about author Lewis Carroll.
To learn more about this collection, see the Alice in Wonderland Collection research guide.
To browse works in this collection, search the UBC Library catalogue for "Alice Collection".
In addition to the Alice 100 Collection, Rare Books and Special Collections holds other materials related to Alice. To learn how to find these materials, see the Alice in Wonderland Collection research guide's "Colocating This Collection" section.
Arkley Collection of Early and Historical Children's Literature
The Arkley Collection of Early and Historical Children’s Literature holds Canadian, British and American children’s books from the late eighteenth century to 1939. It is strong in material by and about Lewis Carroll. Some unique items include Canadian first editions, early editions of children’s classics, and works of important illustrators.
To learn more about this collection, see the Arkley Collection page in the Historical Children's Literature research guide.
To browse works in this collection, search the UBC Library catalogue for call numbers PZ6 1659a. C644 to PZ6 1930z. W376, PZ7, and PZ8.
Norman Colbeck Collection
This collection contains material written by and about English and Anglo-Irish poets and essayists of the Romantic, Victorian, and Edwardian periods.
To learn more about this collection, see the Colbeck Collection page in the English Literature research guide.
To browse works in this collection, search the UBC Library catalog for call numbers ZPR460 .U54 1987 / Online catalogue (A-L) / Online catalogue M-End.
Rare Books and Special Collections also holds the Norman Colbeck fonds. The fonds contains: correspondence, notebooks, and other literary manuscripts of many of the authors represented in the Colbeck Book Collection; records generated by Colbeck, through his activities as a book dealer and collector, and in the process of cataloguing his collection for UBC; and records created by the Librarian in charge of the Colbeck collection, generated in the process of cataloguing and maintaining that collection. See the finding aid for more information about the collection and to find materials to request at our reading room.
Gatti-Kraus Collection (European sacred music scores, including many early editions)
This collection holds European sacred music scores and contains many early editions.
To browse works in this collection, search the UBC Library catalogue for "Gatti-Kraus Musica Sacra Collection".
William C. Gibson History of Medicine and Science Collection
The W. C. Gibson History of Science & Medicine Collection contains rare books, manuscripts, medical biographies and books about medical history. The motivation behind acquiring these rare books was to show students "the milestones of science - the first time any new discovery was published." The personal collections of Chauncey Leake, a US pharmacologist and medical historian, Hugh M. Sinclair, an Oxford lecturer and researcher, and Sir Robert MacIntosh, an Oxford professor of anesthesiology, were among the purchases that comprise the core of the collection. Additional collections have since been acquired from Claude Dolman and the Vancouver Medical Association, and special collections in obstetrics and gynecology from Dr. Gerald Korn, and in dermatology from Dr. McLean.
To learn more about this collection, see the William C. Gibson History of Medicine and Science Collection page of Rare Books in Science and Medicine research guide.
To browse works in this collection, search the UBC Library catalogue for "William C. Gibson History of Medicine and Science Collection".
Henry Messerschmidt Collection (Early printed editions of Classical or Renaissance texts from the 15th to the 18th centuries)
This collection features early printed editions of Classical and Renaissance texts from the 15th to 18th centuries.
To browse works in this collection, search the UBC Library catalogue for "Henry Messerschmidt Collection".
Puban Collection (Chinese language titles in about 45,000 volumes with Chinese bindings, the majority from the Nanzhou studio in Guangdong Province)
This collection of Chinese language titles consists of about 45,000 volumes with Chinese bindings, the majority from the Nanzhou studio in Guangdong Province.
To learn more about this collection, see the Puban Collection page of the Chinese Special Collections research guide.
To browse works in this collection, search the UBC Library catalogue for "Puban Collection".
H. Rocke Robertson Collection of Dictionaries
The collection contains dictionaries from throughout history. This includes precursors of dictionaries in the Classical period and the Renaissance, sixteenth century works, small seventeenth century English dictionaries, dictionaries by Bailey and Johnson from the eighteenth century, and dictionaries of the twentieth century, like the Oxford English Dictionary.
To learn more about this collection, see the H. Rocke Robertson page of the English Literature research guide.
To browse works in this collection, search the UBC catalogue for "H. Rocke Robertson Collection" or the call number ZPE1611.R623 1988.
If you're interested in books on a particular subject, check out the Rare Books and Special Collections research guides to find more about our holdings and how to find and access materials.