Finding and Using Materials in Rare Books and Special Collections

At the Library home page, select "Books & Media," then "More Search Options"

Use the "Guided Keyword Search" tab and select "all of these," "any of these," or "as a phrase": Example: "dorian gray" [as a phrase / within Title] and "wilde" [all of these / within Author Name]

Choose "Rare Books and Special Collections" under the "Location" dropdown menu

Narrow your search using a range of dates or sort by "publication date" (oldest to newest) on the results page

Use the "More Search Options / Guided Keyword Search"

• Example: "Kelmscott" [within Publisher / Place]

Choose "Rare Books and Special Collections" under "Location" dropdown menu​

From the Library home page, select "Books & Media" and then "More Search Options"

Navigate fo the "Browse" search bar and select "Subject (begins with)" button:

• Example: "fairy tales"

You can also use subject headings in the "Guided Keyword Search:"

• Example: "fairy tales" [as a phrase / within Subject]

Choose "Rare Books and Special Collections" under "Location" dropdown menu

Some named collections have print catalogues and some can be co-located (grouped) in the online catalogue (see the Select Book Collections tab)

Use the "More Search Options / Guided Keyword Search"

• Example: "Beatrice Roslyn Robertson collection" [as a phrase / within All Fields]

Choose "Rare Books and Special Collections" under "Location" dropdown menu

Select collection name link within catalogue record

From the Library home page, select "General" and then "Advanced Search."

Enter a date range in the "Publication date" field and / or select a language from the dropdown menu:

• Example: "1789-1799"
• Example: Français

Limit to "Rare Books & Special Collections" under "Library Location."