Articles | Databases - Social Work - Research Guides at University of British Columbia

Explore Social Work Journals

Databases | Scholarly and Peer Reviewed Articles

Social Services Abstracts
Indexes current research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts includes "scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more." Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

Sociology Collection
Focuses on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles, citations to book reviews, and abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

PsycInfo
Covers psychology and the psychological aspects of various other disciplines. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations.
Web of Science
Indexes content on a wide variety of topics in science and social science areas. This database covers content from 1900-present.

MEDLINE (Ovid)
Premier biomedical database with over 23 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this OvidSP interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.

LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
The premier resource to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.
Intersectional LGBTQ Issues Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Ten case studies pertaining to Intersectional LGBTQ issues and history in the 21st century
CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
Key database in nursing and allied health.
Downtown Eastside Research Access Portal This link opens in a new window

News Sources | Grey Material Databases

Additional resources for finding popular sources are listed in the Newspapers Guide.

Canada Commons This link opens in a new window
Canada Commons is an unmatched resource for Canadian content. It offers a bilingual (English-French) interface that gives Canadian readers access to all content in their language of choice. Originally named the Canadian Electronic Library, it is boasts a collection of ebooks which has been available to libraries since 2005.

The Canadian Documents Collection includes research papers, reports, studies, policy papers & briefs, discussion papers, numbered series, working papers, political party platforms, evidence reviews, systematic reviews, economic evaluations and environmental scans.
Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
Includes journals, magazines, and newspapers published in Canada in the fields of business, current events, education and general reference.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides access to a deep archive of news and business information, allowing users to conduct in-depth research on companies, industries, regional affairs.
Please limit number of articles downloaded to 100 per session. Please stick to that limit.

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
more...less...
Social work is found under the Social and Behaviour Sciences tab
Visions: BC's Mental Health and Addictions Journal
"Visions is an award-winning quarterly magazine that brings together many views on mental health and substance use. It’s a place to explore different aspects of wellness, share your own experiences, learn from others, and discuss ideas.

The journal is written by and for people who have experienced mental health or substance use problems or used mental health or addictions services, along with service providers, family and friends, community advocates, and leaders and decision-makers."