Contact me!
Susan Paterson
Contact:
susan.paterson@ubc.ca
Humanities and Social Sciences Division- Koerner Library
Humanities and Social Sciences Division- Koerner Library
604-827-5832
Research Help - Okanagan
Key Resources
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes current research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, community development.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial Services Abstracts indexes current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.
- Sociology Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes Sociological Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and full text from the journals included in Sociology Database.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary database of journal articles and conference proceedings, used for citation analysis of research. Includes access to EndNote Basic, a web-based version of EndNote.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Search citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference proceedings, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Can also be used for cited reference searches, citation analysis of research and searching by affiliation.
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new windowA web-based research methods tool created to support researchers and students as they explore relevant content across the social and behavioral sciences, covering quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of evaluation and measurement tools used in health and psychosocial studies.
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowPremier biomedical database with over 30 million journal articles in the life sciences. Similar to Pubmed in content, this Ovid interface facilitates structured searching and allows editing of search histories.
Helpful Links
- Use this worksheet to plan your search.
- Laubepin, Frederique. (2013) How to Read (and Understand) a Social Science Journal Article.
- Evaluating your Sources:
- Act Up Evaluation Method