Orientation Session
- LIBR 506 (Human Information Interaction)slides for class
- LAIS 605slides for session
- UBC Library Orientation Sessionslides for session
AskAway Virtual Chat Service
Chat loading...
Key Resources
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new windowLISTA indexes nearly 700 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings; coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management.
- Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) This link opens in a new windowIndexes major library and information science periodicals. LISA covers librarianship and information science and includes many related areas such as archives and records management. North American and international coverage. Covers major scholarly journals in the field.
Please consult the ProQuest LibGuide on LISA with more information, including content and searching.
Professional Readings
Core Values
-
Core Values of Librarianship - from ALA
Critical Readings
-
OCLC Research Reports - in-depth studies and topical surveys that let you understand issues and trends that affect librarianship. Some of the specific reports are listed below.
-
How Canadian Public Libraries Stack Up - examines the economic, social and cultural impact of public libraries in Canada
-
Online Catalogs: What Users and Librarians Want - summarizes the findings from research conducted by OCLC on what constitutes quality in library online catalogs from both end users’ and librarians’ points of view.
- CLIR Reports - CLIR (Council on Library and Information Resources) has published more than 150 reports on topics relating to preservation, digital libraries, economics of information, trends in information use, international developments, and the changing role of the library.