Research Guides: Library, Archival, and Information Studies: Collection Development

What is Collection Developement

Collection development is the process in which libraries meet the information needs of their users through the selection, purchasing, and management of resources.

Collection Development Reports

The following reports outline key considerations in developing a collection development plan.

Collection Development Professional Resources (ALA)
Guidelines for a Collection Development Policy Using the Conspectus Model (IFLA)
Collection Development for E-Books (ALA)
Key Issues for e-Resource Collection Development: A Guide for Libraries (IFLA)

Association of College and Research Libraries Environmental Scan (2015) outlining library acquisitions and collections issues, including: e-books, streaming media, demand-driven acquisition (DDA), collection assessment, and more.

Review Sources

The selection of resources comes from a combination of user needs and source review. The following resources assist provide reviews for selecting resources.

For additional book review sources, go to the Books, Theatre, and Film Reviews guide.

Choice Reviews Online
Reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year CHOICE publishes more than 6,500 reviews by subject experts.
New York Review of Books
1963-present
Literary and critical journal discussing and reviewing important books. Reviews and articles written by "writers who are themselves a major force in world literature and thought."

Books in Print
Title says it all... With a smart and attractive interface, it helps you search the marketplace and discover the right book titles, including e-books.