Websites
- City of Vancouver - VanMapVanMap is a Web-based application that lets you view data about Vancouver in map form.
- Harland Bartholomew and the City of VancouverAvailable via the Internet Archive, records created between 1926 and 1948 by Harland Bartholomew for the Vancouver Town Planning Commission. A selection of maps and illustrations from those reports are available on Flickr.
- Vancouver's Teardown CycleCreated by UBC Faculty member Joseph Dahman and mathematician Jens von Bergmann, this website provides an interactive look at the demolition cycle of single family homes in Vancouver.
- CivicInfo BC - Planning GuidesThe resources in this database provide legal mechanisms, innovative policies, and best practices that planners can use to help their communities adapt to climate change, protect green infrastructure, and carry out sustainable land and water use practices.
- Habitat Conferences Digital ArchiveA project of UBC's School of Community & Regional Planning, the archive seeks to collect and digitize primary materials, including audio-visual collections, from the Habitat I and II Conferences.
- Open Collection: Greater Vancouver Regional District (GVRD)A series of land use maps covering metro Vancouver. Coverage includes residential, commercial, and industrial areas. Index sheets are also available digitally for reference and orientation purposes.
Plans / Zoning / Bylaws
Vancouver Neighbourhoods
|
|
|
Metro Vancouver
|
|
|
|
First Nations
|
|
|
Bibliographies
- Vancouver Bibliography This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive listing of all materials on the subject of Vancouver.
Vertical Files
Located on the third floor of the Music, Art and Architecture Library, this extensive filing system provides a wealth of information dating from the 1950s. The files include pamphlets, newspaper clippings, planning reports, unpublished manuscripts, biographical information, correspondence, memorabilia, etc. Material can be requested at the Information Desk during reference hours. All material is Library Use Only, but there are photocopiers nearby. Some examples include files on specific neighbourhoods (VANCOUVER (B.C.) - DISTRICTS - MOUNT PLEASANT), files on local transit (Urban Transit in Vancouver) and housing (VANCOUVER (B.C.) HOUSING).