Find Planning Books
Ebooks are accessible through Summon and the Library Catalogue. The core print planning collection is located in the Music, Art & Architecture Library, however, other UBC Library branches will also be of interest: Koerner, Woodward, David Lam, Law and Xwi7xwa.
Keywords & Subject Headings
Listed below is a selection of planning subject headings that can be added to keyword searches. These headings are also linked to the UBC Library catalogue and will display all UBC Library books on the specific subject.
- Cities and towns
- City planning
- Community development
- Community development, Urban
- Regional planning
- Rural development
- Sustainable development
- Transportation
- Urban policy
Other subject headings that may be of interest include:
Ebooks & Ebook Collections
In addition to ebooks found in the Library catalogue, many ebook collections provide a full text search option. Useful ebook collections for planning are:
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowFull-text online access to journals & ebooks published by Springer, Nature, and Palgrave.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull text electronic journals covering the physical sciences, applied sciences, life sciences, social sciences, business & economics. Also includes reference works, book series, and handbooks.
- University Press Scholarship Online This link opens in a new windowA vast and rapidly-expanding online research library, University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) offers full-text access to the best scholarly publishing from around the world, making disparately-published scholarship easily accessible, highly discoverable, and fully cross-searchable via a single online platform.
- UN iLibrary This link opens in a new windowThe UN iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations.
- National Academies Press (NAP) This link opens in a new window4000+ free ebooks on science, engineering, and health.
- IDRC (International Development Research Centre) BooksIDRC is a Canadian Crown corporation established by an act of Parliament in 1970 to help developing countries find solutions to their problems. They encourage and support researchers and innovators in those countries to find practical, long-term solutions to the social, economic, and environmental problems their societies face.
- IIED (International Institute for Environment & Development) PublicationsIIED is one of the world’s most influential international development and environment policy research organisations. Many of their publications offer free pdfs to dowload.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Listed below are a selection of titles.
Community Planning Handbook: How People Can Shape Their Cities, Towns and Villages in Any Part of the WorldCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Handbook on Participatory Action Research and Community DevelopmentCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2022
Environmental Planning Handbook for Sustainable Communities and RegionsCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Handbook on Transport and Urban Planning in the Developed WorldCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
Urban Planning after DisastersCall Number: HT165.5 .U737 2017 (MAA Library - Reference)Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Urban Disaster Resilience: integrating mitigation, preparedness, and recovery planningCall Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2019
Retrofitting for Flood Resilience: a guide to building & community designCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9780429347986Publication Date: 2020
Books from Other Libraries
If UBC Library doesn't have the book you need, try ordering it through our Interlibrary Loan Service.
Visiting another university library? Reciprocal Borrowing agreements may allow you to sign out books at that library.
These databases will expand your search beyond UBC Library:
- Outlook Online This link opens in a new windowCatalogue of the holdings of British Columbia's public, college, and institute libraries.