Core Databases
The following resources provide access to the core biomedical literature. For a comprehensive list of other specialized health indexes and databases see the Health and Biomedical Databases UBC Wiki page.
- CINAHL - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
- PsycInfo (includes full text from PsycArticles) This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Evidence Based Medicine Databases
Key databases for Evidence-Based Medicine. For additional resources please see UBC's Evidence-Based Healthcare Guide.
- ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window
- EBM Reviews (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new window
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) This link opens in a new window
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) This link opens in a new window
Point of Care Tools
Summaries and evidence synthesis on clinical topics for use by health care providers at the point of care.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- Dynamed This link opens in a new window
- Red Book Online This link opens in a new window
Guidelines
- Association of Ontario Midwives (AOM) Clinical Practice GuidelinesThe AOM guidelines are the only midwifery-produced evidence-based guidelines in Canada and are recommended alongside the SOGC and PSBC by the BC College of Nurses and Midwives.
- Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Canada | The Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of CanadaGuidelines from SOGC available through the JOGC Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Canada. Access to journal is provided through UBC.
- World Health Organization (WHO) GuidelinesSearch for "Midwifery" within the search box labelled 'Health Topic' to access relevant guidelines.
Journals
Sometimes you might just want to browse the journals. Browse some titles related to midwifery below.
- All4Maternity Bundle The ultimate resource for maternity workers, student midwives, midwives, parents and families across the globe. Access to over 50 e-modules, newsworthy blogs and educational podcasts with midwifery influencers. Browse through 100’s of academic articles from The Practising Midwife and Student Midwife journals archives.
Video Searching Tutorials
For help getting started or taking your research skills to the next level see the following resources or contact your liaison librarian.