Developing your Research Topic
This template helps you to map out the types of things you should consider when deciding on a research topic.
Research Help
Welcome
Welcome! This guide accompanies the JAPN 400 Library Orientation Session on September 24, 2024.
Student will find links mentioned during the session, as well as additional resources useful for their research. If necessary, check out the regular Japanese Studies Resources guide for a more comprehensive listing of available resources.
If you have any questions, please contact your librarian, Tomoko Kitayama Yen.
Having an urgent question after hours? AskAway, an online chat reference service staffed by B.C. academic librarians, may be available. Find out more on the Ask Us! page.
Databases
Finding Books and Journals
- UBC Summon on the Library HomepageFind library books, journals, journal articles, dissertations, and more.
- UBC Library CatalogueSearch for books and journals held at the UBC Library.
Finding Journal Articles
- CiNii Research (Articles)Cinii provides bibliographic information for articles published in Japanese journals from the 1950s to present. Use your keywords to locate particular articles that are relevant to your subject. Although many articles are available in full text, several are only accessible in print. Check the UBC Library Catalogue see if the Library has the print or email your librarian for assistance at tomoko.kitayama@ubc.ca.
- J-StageJ-STAGE is an electronic journal platform developed and managed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST). J-Stage promotes open access and 90+% of articles from journals, conference proceedings, research reports, and others, are free to read.
- Zassaku Plus ざっさくプラスThis article index provides citation information for articles published from the Meiji period on. The database includes the full National Diet Library periodicals index (Zasshi kiji sakuin), but is especially useful for those looking for resources published before 1948.
Finding Newspaper Articles
- Asahi Shinbun Cross Search 朝日新聞クロスサーチFull-text access to Asahi shinbun 朝日新聞 (1879-present), Shūkan Asahi 週刊朝日 (1985-present), and AERA (1985-present). Also includes the Historical Photo Archive (coverage 1930s-1945) and Asahi gurafu アサヒ・グラフ (1923-1945), a pictorial magazine.
- Yomidas (Yomiuri Database Service) ヨミダスFull-text access to Yomiuri Shinbun 読売新聞 (1874-present). Also includes Daily Yomiuri / The Japan News, an English language daily published by Yomiuri (1989-present).
Reference Resources
- JapanKnowledge Lib ジャパンナレッジA comprehensive reference database. Includes 日本大百科全書, デジタル大辞泉, 日本国語大辞典, 類語例解辞典, 日本史年表, 小学館ランダムハウス英和大辞典, プログレッシブ英和・和英中辞典, 現代用語の基礎知識, 情報・知識イミダス, 日本人名大辞典, 日本近代文学大事典, 日本人物文献目録, and many others.
Tips on Google searching
When searching Google, limit your search to academic domains.
- site:ac.jp will limit the search results to those published within Japanese academic institution sites
- site:ac.jp file:pdf will further limits to publications available in PDF
Example search strategy: 宮崎駿 想像 site:ac.jp ► See the results here.
Helpful Websites
- Kindai Nihonjin no shōzō 近代日本人の肖像Provides over 350 portraits of individuals who helped construct today's Japan, includes short biographical text on each person.
- 国立国会図書館リサーチナビOffers tips, instructions, and resources in conducting a library research in may different subject areas.
