Research Help
Getting Started
This is the library research guide for Suzuki-sensei's JAPN400: Advanced Modern Japanese: Reading and Writing I (Winter 2023). The course involves selected texts covering various aspects of Japanese cultural history and contemporary Japanese culture/society.
This guide is specifically intended to help the JAPN 400 students write the Japanese language course report on the notable figures in Japanese cultural history.
Online Reference Resources
- JapanKnowledge Lib (in Japanese) ジャパンナレッジA Japanese multi-purpose database including many reference resources and electronic books.
Remember to log out.
JapanKnowledge Lib. contains the following biographical dictionaries:
- Biographical dictionary of Japan 日本人名大辞典
- Iwanami great world biographical dictionary 世界人名大辞典
- Dictionary of fictional and legendary characters 日本架空伝承人名事典
- Bibliography of Japanese biographies 日本人物文献目録
- Asahi Shinbun Cross-Search 朝日新聞クロスサーチAsahi Newspaper's Cross-Search database includes Who's who database 人物データベース containing over 35,000 entries. Remember to log out.
- Yomidas (Yomiuri Database Service) ヨミダスYomiuri Newspaper's Yomidas database includes Contemporary who's who database 現代人名録, containing 26,000 entries. Remember to log out.
- FactivaOffers full-text access to 35,000+ global news and information sources from 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes recent issues of Mainichi shinbun 毎日新聞, Sankei shinbun 産経新聞, Yomiuri shinbun 読売新聞, and other Japanese language news sources.
Citing Japanese Sources
- Asian Language Citation GuideThis guide offers MLA, APA, and Chicago style citation guidelines and presents specific citation requirements for Asian-language resources, including Japanese sources.