Biographical dictionaries & encyclopedias - online
-
Kindai Nihonjin no shōzō 近代日本人の肖像Provides over 1,000 portraits of individuals who helped construct today's Japan, includes short biographical text on each person.
Dictionaries & encyclopedias - print
-
Meiji Taishō jinbutsu jiten 明治大正人物事典 byCall Number: CT1836 .M45 2011 Asian Library ReferencePublication Date: 2011
-
Edo jidaikan 江戶時代館 by A very colourful book that details many aspects of Edo culture and history.Call Number: DS871 .E357 2002 Asian Library referencePublication Date: 2002
-
Meiji jidaikan 明治時代館 by It provides short and colourful depictions of Meiji life and events.Call Number: DS882 .M3837 2005 Asian Library referencePublication Date: 2005
Background information - print
The following multi-volume books cover various events in Japanese history. Choose one that fits your time period and broad subject area, and check whether it contains specific information on your topic.
-
Nihon no rekishi 日本の歴史 by Includes short volumes on different periods of Japanese history (from ancient to modern times), with concise chapters on important events. Recommended for upper-intermediate and advanced students.Call Number: DS835 .N473 1999 Asian Library language learning
-
Shōwa nimannichi no zenkiroku 昭和: 二万日の全記録 This 19-volume history of the Shōwa era in images provides a detailed breakdown of the period by month and day.Call Number: DS888.2 .S487 Asian Library stacksPublication Date: 1989-1991
-
Zusetsu Nihon no rekishi: Bakumatsu no shishi 図說日本の歴史: 幕末の志士 This series, which focuses on the Bakumatsu period of the Edo era (1835–1869), includes diagrams, photos, and manga to illustrate key points. Although the volumes do not provide exhaustive furigana, the material is divided into short sections that are relatively easy to follow.Call Number: DS881.3 .Z88 Asian Library language learningPublication Date: 2009-2010
